Select Page

2015 Junior and U23 Australian Rowing Teams announced

Rowing Australia today announced the teams set to represent Australia at the 2015 Junior and U23 World Rowing Championships. The Junior Australian Rowing Team selected will travel to Rio de Janeiro for the 2015 Junior World Rowing Championships that take place from 5 to 9 August this year. The U23 Australian Rowing Team selected will compete from 22 to 26 July at the 2015 U23 World Rowing Championships set to be held in Plovdiv, Bulgaria.

More information on the team will be released later today and profiles will be updated in due course.


Australian Junior Rowing Team to compete at 2015 World Rowing Championships in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Junior Men’s Single Scull
Adam Bakker (QLD – Nudgee College/Commercial Rowing Club)
Coach: John Bowes (QLD – Nudgee College)

Junior Men’s Coxed Four
Tom Barnes (NSW – Sydney Rowing Club)
Henry Kamp (NSW – Sydney Rowing Club)
Hamish McDonald (NSW – Sydney Rowing Club)
Toby Starkey (NSW – Sydney Rowing Club)
Benjamin Doyle – Coxswain (NSW – Sydney Rowing Club)
Coaches: Robert Williams (NSW – Sydney Rowing Club) and Jason Baker (NSW – Sydney Rowing Club – Mentor Coach (non-travelling))

Junior Women’s Coxless Pair
Charlotte Medway (NSW – Mosman Rowing Club)
Rafaela Stalph (NSW – Mosman Rowing Club)
Coach: Alfie Young (NSW – Mosman Rowing Club)

Junior Women’s Coxless Four
Georgia Seidel (SA – Murray Bridge Rowing Club)
Madeleine Southall (QLD – University of Queensland Boat Club)
Josephine Theile (QLD – University of Queensland Boat Club)
Lily Alton-Triggs (QLD – University of Queensland Boat Club)
Coach: Ned Draydon (QLD – University of Queensland Boat Club)

Junior Women’s Double Scull
Bridget Badenoch (SA – Adelaide University Boat Club)
Georgia Wheeler (WA – Swan River Rowing Club)
Coach: Jarrad Schar (SA – South Australian Institute of Sport)

U23 Australian Rowing Team to compete at 2015 U23 World Rowing Championships in Plovdiv, Bulgaria

U23 Men’s Coxless Pair
Nicholas Wheatley (NSW – NTC-Canberra/Sydney University Boat Club)
Jack Hargreaves (NSW – NTC-Canberra/Sydney University Boat Club)
Coach: Mark Prater (NSW – Sydney University Boat Club)

 Under 23 Men’s Double Scull
Luke Letcher (ACT – Black Mountain Rowing Club)
Thomas Schramko (NSW- Mosman Rowing Club)
Coach: Nick Garratt (NSW – Mosman Rowing Club)

Under 23 Men’s Quad Scull
Christopher Hayes (WA – Swan River Rowing Club)
Robert Black (NSW – Mosman Rowing Club)
Alexander Purnell (NSW – Sydney University Boat Club)
William Mure (TAS – Huon Rowing Club)
Coach: Antonio Maurogiovanni (WA – Swan River Rowing Club)

Under 23 Men’s Lightweight Coxless Pair
Hamish Parry   (QLD – Toowong Rowing Club)
John Armitage (QLD – Toowong Rowing Club)
Coach: Ben Southwell (QLD – QAS)

Under 23 Women’s Coxless Pair
Katrina Werry (VIC – Mercantile Rowing Club)
Addy Dunkley-Smith (VIC – Mercantile Rowing Club)
Coach: Simon Gadsden (VIC – Mercantile Rowing Club)

Under 23 Women’s Quad Scull
Cara Grzeskowiak (ACT – Capital Lakes Rowing Club)
Georgina Gotch (NSW – Mosman Rowing Club)
Rowena Meredith (NSW – Mosman Rowing Club)
Tessa Carty (QLD – Bundaberg Rowing Club)
Coach: Judith Ungemach (NSW – Mosman Rowing Club)

 Under 23 Women’s Lightweight Double Scull
Amy James (QLD – Toowong Rowing Club)
Holly Lawrence (NSW – UTS)
Coach: Alex Field (QLD – Toowong Rowing Club)