Select Page

Selection Update to Senior Women’s Eight

Rowing Australia today announced that Georgie Howe has been selected to the Women’s Coxed Eight that will compete at the World Rowing Championships in Aiguebelette, France (30th August – 6th September).

Howe’s selection follows the injury enforced withdrawal of Renee Chatterton earlier this month. Howe, who was recently a part of the Under 23 Women’s Four that placed fourth in Plovdiv, Bulgaria, has also previously competed in the Women’s Eight at Under 23 level.

Sophie Sutherland, who had also been added to the squad following the injury to Chatterton, will remain with the Australian Rowing Team as a reserve for the Women’s Eight.

The crew that will compete at the World Rowing Championships, which also doubles as an Olympic qualification event, is:

Women’s Coxed Eight
Hannah Vermeersch (WARC/WA – WAIS)
Lucy Stephan (Melbourne University BC/VIC – NTC-Canberra)
Georgina Howe (VIC – VIS/ Princeton)
Rosemary Popa (Banks RC/VIC)
Meaghan Volker (Buckingham RC/TAS)
Charlotte Sutherland (Mercantile RC/VIS – NTC-Canberra)
Alexandra Hagan (Swan River RC/WA – WAIS)
Katrina Bateman (Mercantile RC/VIC)
Sarah Banting – Coxwain (Mercantile RC/VIC)
Coach: Andrew Randell (ACTAS)

Full details of the Senior Australian Rowing Team are available from the team page.