Select Page

2016 Sydney International Rowing Regatta – King’s and Queen’s Cups Preview

Regatta to be broadcast live on Rowing Australia website from 8am AEDT LIVE


The 2016 King’s and Queen’s Cups Interstate Regatta will take place on 20 March at the Sydney International Regatta Centre, Penrith as part of the 2016 Sydney International Rowing Regatta.

The event is the pinnacle and closing event of the regatta and will be broadcast on Rowing Australia’s website LIVE. Rowing Australia will not only be broadcasting the Interstate races that day, but all of the day’s finals beginning at 8am, including the Schoolboys and Schoolgirls Eights Finals.
The event has been dominated by Victoria, with the state lifting the Rowing Australia Cup for the overall point score a record 12 times, while Queensland have won it twice in 2004 and 2014, and New South Wales have lifted the cup three times.

With the State Crews all confirmed and the event taking place this Sunday, Rowing Australia previews below the various cups that make up the event.

This year’s event sees the addition of two new boat classes, the Interstate LTA Men’s Single Scull and the Interstate Women’s Single Scull.

Inaugural year
Click here for crews

One of two new events in the Interstate Regatta, this year’s entries feature Kate Murdoch for New South Wales, Sara Waitzer from Tasmania and Kate Lapthorne from Victoria. Favourite for the race will no doubt be New South Welshwoman Kate Murdoch, selected as the stroke of Australia’s LTA Mixed Coxed Four bidding late Paralympic Qualification, Murdoch has been a regular in the Australian Rowing Team since 2014.

Inaugural year
Click here for crews

The other new event for the Interstate in 2016 is the LTA Men’s Single Scull. Athletes are entered from ACT, New South Wales, Queensland, Tasmania, Victoria and WA. Favourites would be Brock Ingram from WA, recently named in Australia’s LTA Mixed Coxed Four, while Kevin du Toit from New South Wales is a hot prospect for a medal.

2015 Winner – Victoria (VIC)
Click here for crews

The King’s Cup, donated by British monarch George V and won by the Australian Imperial Forces No.1 crew at the Royal Henley Peace Regatta in 1919 following the end of World War One, is the trophy of the Eight-oared Men’s Championship race.

Current champions Victoria are drawn in Lane 6, the same lane they won the trophy in last year. The race is always one of the high points of the event. The race to claim the King’s Cup should again come down to the two most prolific winners of the ornate trophy, Victoria and New South Wales.

NSW will be looking to reclaim the trophy they lost last year and deny Victoria the opportunity of back-to-back wins. Last year Victoria managed to break New South Wales’ record seven-in-a-row winning streak.  Both crews will field crews almost exclusively filled by members of the recently announced Australian Rowing Team, making them truly world-class.  South Australia will certainly feature after their stunning race for silver in 2014 and bronze in 2015, but it will be tough for them to push past the crews from Victoria and NSW.

2015 Winner – Victoria
Click here for crews

The Victorian crew for the Queen’s Cup this year are formidable to say the least. The crew features a number of athletes from last year’s winning crew, including Kim Brennan, Lucy Stephan, Charlotte and Sophie Sutherland, Addy Dunkley-Smith along with coxswain Sarah Banting.

It is hard to see any of the other crews chasing Victorians who are on an 11-year winning streak, however Queensland are looking strong again after their 2015 silver medal, while South Australia and New South Wales will potentially challenge for a podium finish.

2015 Winner – New South Wales (Alexander ‘Sasha’ Belonogoff)
Click here for crews

Alexander ‘Sasha’ Belonogoff for NSW comes in as the reigning champion of this event and the New South Welshman will come in as the favourite to retain his title, especially having recently been named in the Australian Rowing Team’s Men’s Quadruple Scull.

Rhys Grant (WA) and Chris Morgan (SA) all return, while Luke Letcher of the Australian Capital Territory will make an appearance in his third President’s Cup, and like his fellow competitors will be keen to emulate Grant’s heist of the event in 2013.

2015 Winner – Victoria (Kim Brennan nee Crow)
Click here for crews

Kim Brennan will once again race in the Women’s Single Scull event and with Brennan’s recent form, it will be hard not to back her to take the trophy once again this year. The reigning World Champion in this boat class, the Victorian will be the favourite to win, however she will have challenges from Australian Rowing Team members Kerry Hore, Sally Kehoe and Genevieve Horton. The unusual situation has arisen with Kehoe being equal holder of the record for most ever wins in the Nell Slatter Trophy, however she is not seen as the favourite.

There will no doubt be some strong racing from Australia’s top female scullers as they compete for the prized Nell Slatter Trophy.

2015 Winner – Queensland
Click here for crews

The history of this event has changed significantly in the past four years – prior to 2013, Queensland had never won the Penrith Cup.  Now, with a winning streak of three in a row in the boat class, its likely Queensland will walk away with a fourth Penrith Cup for their trophy cabinet.

This year’s crew sees the return of Adam Kachyckyj, Jack Price and Nick Silcox, while they are joined by recent underage Australian Rowing Team member Hamish Parry.
New South Wales, Western Australia and Victoria all look to have built combinations that could challenge this year, however spectators will be hard-pushed to not think the men in maroon will claim the Penrith Cup once again.

2015 Winner – Tasmania
Click here for crews

Tasmania are traditionally strong in lightweight events, and have continued to assert their authority in this event claiming back-to-back wins in the Victoria Cup. Last year’s crew fended off competition from New South Wales and Victoria to claim the top prize. This year’s lineup will include Georgia Nesbitt, Ella Flecker, Eve Mure and Annabel Gibson and will look likely to remain over the Bass Strait on Tassie shores.
2015 Winner – New South Wales
Click here for crews

This event brought out the race of the regatta in 2014 – Victoria rowing over the top of Queensland on the line to win by less than a second.  In 2015, it was all change again with New South Wales snapping up victory followed by Queensland and Victoria.

This year it is looking like New South Wales could be the ones to beat, but no doubt Victoria, Western Australia and Queensland will all push for a podium finish.

2015 Winner – Victoria
Click here for crews

Victoria took home the Bicentennial Cup in 2015, a trophy they had not won since 2007. This year’s crew features a number of the Junior Australian Rowing Team Women’s Eight that rowed at the 2015 Junior World Rowing Championships, namely in the form of coxswain Alexis Hancock, Chloe Betts, Maddison Brown and Kirstie Green. , The other states have been regrouping since last year, so the charge could come from anyone but keep an eye out for Queensland and New South Wales.

Please note entries are subject to change but are correct as of 16 March 2016.

Tickets for SIRR 2016 are still available online by clicking here or can be purchased at the gate upon arrival at SIRC.