Select Page

2016 Underage Australian Rowing Teams announced

Rowing Australia today announced the Underage crews set to represent Australia in 2016. The Junior and U23 Australian Rowing Team will compete at the 2016 World Rowing Senior, U23 and Junior Championships in Rotterdam, while the U21 Australian Rowing Team will once again take on New Zealand in the annual Trans-Tasman Regatta for the Rusty Robertson Trophy.

Of the crews named today in the U23 team, additional crews may be added in June when the US-based U23 Australian athletes return for trials alongside other U23 athletes invited back for further trialling opportunities. Athletes at the June trials must meet performance standards set by the selectors to be with a chance of selection to join the crews named today.

In the U23 team there are a number of returning athletes, including 2015 U23 Men’s Quadruple Scull bronze medallist, Rob Black, who will combine with Tom Schramko, Luke Letcher and Caleb Antill in a bid, with coach Antonio Maurogiovanni, to try and upgrade last year’s bronze for a silver or gold this year.

Two of the U23 Women’s Quadruple Scull who won silver in Plovdiv last year are back in the crew this year, Tessa Carty and Rowena Meredith, while they are joined by Bridget Badenoch and Caitlin Cronin and are being coached by the QAS’s Ben Southwell.

Simon Gadsden of Mercantile RC is back again to coach in the U23s, this time with the Men’s Eight, which includes three of last year’s U21 athletes who have made the step up to U23 level (Darcy Wruck, Oliver Smith and Harley Moore), while 2015 World University Games coach, Bert Cocu, will oversee the Lightweight Women’s Double Scull.

In the Junior Australian Rowing Team a number of strong performers at the recent Sydney International Rowing Regatta feature, including the U19 Women’s Single Scull Champion of Australia, Harriet Hudson, who has made her first junior team. Hudson is being coached by Sydney Rowing Club’s Donovan Cech, also debuting on the team this year.

The Junior Men’s Coxed Four is made up of five athletes from Sydney University Boat Club, while their coach is rowing Olympian, Sarah Cook, who in turn is making her coaching debut for a national team. The Junior Men’s Quadruple Scull is made up of four young men from the Sydney Rowing Club and they will be coached by Lachlan Carter.

Judith Ungemach, who successfully coached the U23 Women’s Quadruple Scull to silver last year in Plovdiv, will this year take on the same boat but this time at a junior level. Meanwhile, the Junior Women’s Double Scull sees the return of two previous Junior Australian Rowing Team representatives, from 2015, Annika Hoffman and Lily Alton Triggs, they are coached by Ned Draydon.

The U21 Australian Rowing Team that will take on New Zealand in the Trans-Tasman Regatta this year sees plenty of new faces. Three familiar names, Sean Murphy, Eloise Parker and Sarah Ben-David return to the team, while there are plenty who have stepped up from junior level including recent representatives Tyron Boorman and Callum Chisholm.

The group are being coached by four appointed coaches, Jarrad Schar, Jennifer Gilbert, Renae Domaschenz and the returning Matthias Ungemach.

The 2016 World Rowing Senior, U23 and Junior Championships take place in Rotterdam, The Netherlands from 21-28 August 2016. The U21 Trans-Tasman Regatta is split over two legs, the first, in Sydney, from 30 June to 2 July, and the second, in Lake Karapiro, New Zealand, from 8 to 10 September.

U23 Australian Rowing Team           

Crew Club or School, SIS/SAS, State
Under 23 Men’s Coxed Eight
Oliver Smith Toowong RC/QLD
Tom Hunt Mercantile RC/VIC
Callum Nott Mercantile RC/VIC
Harley Moore Commercial RC/QAS/QLD
Darcy Wruck Commercial RC/QAS/QLD
Nicholas Pettigrew Toowong RC/QLD
Angus Widdicombe Mercantile RC/VIS/VIC
Liam Donald Mercantile RC/VIC
Franc Gourlas (coxswain) Sydney University BC/NSW
Coach: Simon Gadsden Mercantile RC/VIC
Under 23 Men’s Quadruple Scull
Caleb Antill Australian Nation University BC/ACT
Luke Letcher Black Mountain RC/RBNTC-Canberra/ACT
Thomas Schramko Mosman RC/NSWIS/NSW
Robert Black Mosman RC/NSWIS/NSW
Coach: Antonio Maurogiovanni Swan River RC/WA
Under 23 Men’s Lightweight Quadruple Scull
Mitchell Boros West Australian Rowing Club/WA
Hugo Berry Banks RC/VIC
James Kerr University of Western Australia/WA
James Chuter UTS Rowing Club/NSW
Coach: Jamie Hewlett WAIS/WA
U23 Women’s Quadruple Scull
Bridget Badenoch Adelaide University BC/SASI/SA
Caitlin Cronin University of Queensland BC/QAS/QLD
Tessa Carty Bundaberg RC/QAS/QLD
Rowena Meredith Mosman RC/NSWIS/NSW
Coach: Ben Southwell QAS/QLD
U23 Lightweight Women’s Double Scull
India McKenzie Melbourne University BC/VIC
Alice Arch Melbourne University BC/VIC
Coach: Bert Cocu Melbourne University BC/VIC
U23 Women’s Single Scull
Cara Grzeskowiak Capital Lakes RC/ACTAS/ACT
Coach: Vicky Spencer Adelaide RC/ACT


Junior Australian Rowing Team

Crew Club or School, SIS/SAS, State
Junior Men’s Quadruple Scull
Max Brenner Sydney Rowing Club/NSW
Pasha Bevan Sydney Rowing Club/Shore School/NSW
Thomas Barnes Sydney Rowing Club/NSWIS/NSW
Jackson Kench Sydney Rowing Club/NSW
Coach: Lachlan Carter Sydney Rowing Club/NSW
Junior Men’s Coxed Four
Oliver Schwartz Sydney University BC/NSW
Lachlan Miles Sydney University BC/NSW
Joseph O’Brien Sydney University BC/NSW
Marcus Britt Sydney University BC/NSW
Lewis Willoughby (Coxswain) Sydney University BC/NSW
Coach: Sarah Cook Sydney University BC/NSW
Junior Women’s Quadruple Scull
Romola Davenport Sydney Rowing Club/NSW
Ella Connaghan Mosman Rowing Club/NSW
Olivia Bartram UTS Rowing Club/NSW
Grace Galloway Mosman Rowing Club/NSW
Coach: Judith Ungemarch Mosman Rowing Club/NSW
Junior Women’s Double Scull
Annika Hoffman Barwon Rowing Club/VIS/VIC
Lily Alton Triggs University of Queensland BC/QLD
Coach: Ned Draydon University of Queensland BC/QLD
Junior Women’s Single Scull
Harriet Hudson Sydney Rowing Club/NSW
Coach: Donovan Cech Sydney Rowing Club/NSW


U21 Australian Rowing Team

Crew Club or School, SIS/SAS, State
U21 Men’s Team  
Callum Chisholm Toowong Rowing Club/QLD
Elliott Apel Toowong Rowing Club/QLD
Kane Grant Adelaide Rowing Club/SA
Tim Santin Adelaide Rowing Club/SA
Tyron Boorman Black Mountain Rowing Club/ACT
Samuel Marsh Swan River Rowing Club/WAIS/WA
Sean Murphy Mosman Rowing Club/NSWIS/NSW
Matthew Curtin UTS Rowing Club/NSW
Reserve: Matthew Byrne New Norfolk Rowing Club/TAS
George Davis (Coxswain) Sydney Rowing Club/NSW
Coach: Jarrad Schar SASI/SA
Coach: Matthias Ungemach Mosman RC/NSW
Under 21 Women’s Team
Bree Kennedy-Smith University of Western Australia BC/WA
Bronwyn Cox University of Western Australia BC/WA
Eloise Parker University of Queensland BC/QLD
Kelly Drenth University of Queensland BC/QLD
Annabelle McIntyre Freemantle Rowing Club/WAIS/WA
Ria Thompson Melbourne Rowing Club/VIC
Wallis Russell University of Queensland BC/QLD
Verayna Zilm Adelaide Rowing Club/SA
Reserve: Georgina Masters UTS Rowing Club/NSW
Sarah Ben-David (Coxswain) Melbourne University BC/VIC
Coach: Jennifer Gilbert University of Queensland BC/QLD
Coach: Renae Domaschenz Australian National University Boat Club/ACT