Select Page

Three key members of Australia’s rowing community receive Australia Day honours

Rowing Australia, and the entire rowing community, would like to congratulate the three stalwarts of the Australian rowing community who have been recognised in the 2016 Australia Day honours list. Mr Nick Garratt and Mr Lionel Robberds QC have received Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM) while Mr Craig James has received the Medal of the Order of Australia in the General Division (OAM).

Mr Nick Garratt, the Head of Coach of Mosman Rowing Club in New South Wales, received his honour for significant service to rowing, particularly through coaching positions with the Australian men’s and women’s Olympic teams. Mr Garratt has coached male and female Olympic rowing crews at the following Olympic Games – London 2012, Beijing 2008, Athens 2004 and Sydney 2000, while has also coached numerous Senior and Underage Australian crews.

In addition to his coaching of national team crews, Mr Garratt has been the Head Coach of New South Wales’ King’s Cup for eight years, including overseeing the crew to seven consecutive titles from 2008 to 2014. He has also been Men’s Head Coach, Rowing, New South Wales Institute of Sport, 2001-2005. Senior Coach, Rowing, Western Australian Institute of Sport, 1991-2001 and Head Coach, Haberfield Rowing Club, 1985-1991.

Joining Mr Garratt in receiving a Member of the Order of Australia honour, is Mr Lionel Robberds QC. Mr Robberds received his honours for his significant services to law, to rowing and to the community.

The New South Welshman is a patron of Leichhardt Rowing Club, a club he has been a member of since 1947 and has represented Australia at the highest level. Mr Robberds competed for Australia in the Coxed Fours in the 1960 Rome Olympic Games, the 1954 Empire Games – where he won gold in the Men’s Coxed Four – and the 1958 Empire Games where he won a silver in the Men’s Eight and a bronze in the Men’s Coxed Four. Mr Robberds is also a donor to the Bobby Pearce Foundation, assisting Australian Rowing Team athletes in their bids to compete for Australia.

Rounding off the rowing group, is Mr Craig James who received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for services to rowing, and to sport in Western Australia. Mr James is a current Director on the Rowing WA board and was President of Rowing WA for many years and has also held the titles of Vice President and Secretary within the organisation.

A Life Member of Rowing WA, Mr James is the Council Member for Western Australia on the Rowing Australia Council and was a Boat Race Official at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games. He has been a member since 1969 of the University of Western Australia Boat Club where he has held the titles of President, Secretary and Captain of the club. In addition to his services to rowing, Mr James has been Deputy President of Western Australia Sports Federation (1995-2008) and received the John Graham Award for Exceptional Service, Department of Sport and Recreation Western Australia in 2011.