Select Page

Para-rowers take to the water in Poland

10 crews set to compete today at World Cup 3

Australia’s rowers took to the water yesterday for the beginning of World Rowing Cup 3. Para-rowers Erik Horrie, Kathryn Ross and Gavin Bellis all competed on calm waters in Poznan in the first heats of the para-rowing aspect of the regatta.

Competing in his first international race since the 2015 World Rowing Championships, three-time World Champion Horrie needed a first place finish to progress direct to the Saturday’s A-Finals. Ukraine’s Igor Bondar, who finished third in Aiguebelette last year, was quick out the start. Horrie chased Bondar for the majority of the race and it was the Ukrainian who crossed the line first to book an A-Final spot. Horrie will compete in this afternoon’s repechage in a bid to secure an A-Final berth.

In the Trunk and Arms Mixed Double Heats, Kathryn Ross and Gavin Bellis required a top two finish to book an A-Final spot for Saturday. The Australians, and three-time World Champions, led from start to finish and were followed over the line by the Netherlands’ Esther Van Der Loos and Marinus De Koning. Joining the Australians and the Dutch in making the A-Finals were France and Brazil, the top two finishers of the other heat.

Racing begins at 09:30 local time in Poland, with Australia’s first crew taking to the water in the Men’s Pair heats. You can follow all the action on RA’s social media channels and also via World Rowing’s website. Don’t forget to tag #ARTeam #WRCPoznan in your posts.

Details of all crews racing and progression listed below:

Time (local time in brackets) Boat Class Crew Heat and Lane Progression
19:45 AEST (11:45 CEST) Women’s Double Horton and Kehoe Heat 1, Lane 3 First to A-Final, rest to reps
19:55 AEST (11:55 CEST) Men’s Four Lockwood, Dunkley-Smith, Booth and Hill Heat 1, Lane 2 First to A-Final, rest to reps
20:35 AEST (12:35 CEST) Men’s Quad Forsterling, Belonogoff, Girdlestone and McRae Heat 1, Lane 4 First to A-Final, rest to reps
20:45 AEST (12:45CEST) Men’s Pair Hicks and Medway Heat 1, Lane 4 Top 3 to semi-finals, rest to reps
20:55AEST (12:55 CEST) Men’s Pair Lloyd and Turrin Heat 3, Lane 4 Top 3 to semi-finals, rest to reps
21:00 AEST (13:00 CEST) Men’s Double Watts and Morgan Heat 1, Lane 1 Top 3 to semi-finals, rest to reps
21:15 AEST (13:15 CEST) Women’s Single Aldersey Heat 1, Lane 5 First to semi-finals, rest to reps
21:25 AEST (13:25 CEST) Women’s Single Brennan Heat 3, Lane 6 First to semi-finals, rest to reps
03:08 or 03:16 AEST (19:08/19:16 CEST) Arms and Shoulders Men’s Single Horrie Repechage – Lane and race to be confirmed TBC