Select Page

Women’s Eight Crew named and officially selected by AOC

The Australian Olympic Committee has officially announced the Women’s Rowing Eight crew for the 2016 Olympic Games following the decision on Tuesday by FISA (International Rowing Federation) to award Australia a qualifying place.


Charlotte Sutherland, Meaghan Volker, Fiona Albert, Lucy Stephan, Molly Goodman, Jessica Morrison, Olympia Aldersey, Alexandra Hagan and Sarah Banting (coxswain) have all been selected and will arrive in Rio on August 5.


On Tuesday FISA announced their decision to rule the Russian crew ineligible as they were a part of the 22 banned rowers enabling the Australia crew, who were the first reserve for this event to participate, taking the number of Australian rowers to 29.


“These girls have worked so hard over the past four years and to come so close and miss out at the qualifying events was heartbreaking for them, so to see them get this opportunity is fantastic,” Australian Olympic Team Chef de Mission Kitty Chiller said.

“The majority of the crew are rookies and it is great to see their Olympic dreams come true.”


Australian Rowing has sourced a boat from a local club in Rio de Janeiro. With the Games so close, the Australians did not have time to ship their own boat to Brazil and needed to source a boat on the ground.


The crew flies into Rio on August 5 and the Olympic rowing competition begins the next day at Lagoa Stadium in downtown Rio. The heats of the women’s eight are on Monday August 8.

Source: Australian Olympic Committee