Select Page

2016 Australian Indoor Rowing Champions announced

Over 100 indoor rowing champions crowned across the country

 The inaugural Australian Indoor Rowing Championships drew to a close last month and Rowing Australia today announced the winners who have been crowned the 2016 Indoor Rowing Champions of Australia.

With 509 individual participants competing in 838 races across the length and breadth of Australia, the first Australian Indoor Rowing Championships saw 144 gold medals awarded to winners in both individual and relay events.

The event which ran throughout November, saw Rowing Australia partner with the Robert Connor Dawes Foundation to help raise funds for the organisation, with $2 of every entry fee going to the charity.

The event saw 14 Australian indoor rowing records broken, across multiple age ranges, with 10 record breakers winning gold in their respective categories. You can see the record breakers here.

Winning the Open Men’s 2000m for the 19-29-year-old age category was Tasmanian, local Sam Volker, who posted a winning time, 5:53.6. Meanwhile, in the same age range, Angus Widdicombe who trains out of the Reinhold Batschi National Training Centre took home the title for the men’s 500m category.

In the para-rowing categories, Colette Lancaster-Lockwood took home multiple medals, including three gold medals, while former Australian Rowing Team member and 2002 World Champion, Ben Felten took home a silver medal in the 1000m LTA Men’s category at an event held in Westmead, New South Wales.

The Westmead event also saw surf boat rower Georgie Rowe win the Women’s 19-29-year category for her 2000m ergo score. Rowe clocked an impressive 6:38:7 to take home gold, while she also won the 500m and 1 minute categories also in her age range.

Nagambie’s Michael McNamara broke an Australian indoor rowing record to win gold in the Lightweight Men’s 19-29 category, over 500m, clocking a time 1.23.9.  Brad Jackson also had a fruitful event, competing in the 50-59 year men’s category, to be crowned the complete men’s champion in his age category. Jackson competed at events both in Nagambie and Adelaide and snapped up golds across the board, with wins in the 2000m, 1000m, 500m and 1 Minute races.

The two oldest competitors at the event came in the form of Queenslanders Tibby Kemp and Bert Janes. The duo are the women’s and men’s champions in the respective 1000m categories, while Janes also took home the men’s 500m title to boot.

Rowing Australia’s National Community Development and Education Officer, Ron Batt said: “It is fantastic to see so many records broken and to have had so many competitors involved in our inaugural competition. There were events right across the country with great support for the event in some of the rural locations such as Taree, Nowra and Coffs Harbour.

“We’re delighted with the results and extremely grateful to all the clubs and schools who got involved and help to make the event what it was. Here’s to an even bigger and better 2017 AIRC!”

A full list of all the medallists can viewed by clicking here on the Rowing Australia website.