Select Page

2017 Aon Sydney International Rowing Regatta – King’s and Queen’s Cups Preview

Regatta to be broadcast LIVE on SIRR and Rowing Australia website on 2 April from 8am AEST

The 2017 King’s and Queen’s Cups Interstate Regatta will take place on Sunday 2 April at the Sydney International Regatta Centre, Penrith as part of the 2017 Aon Sydney International Rowing Regatta (SIRR).

The event is the pinnacle and closing event of the regatta and will be broadcast on Rowing Australia’s website LIVE. Rowing Australia will not only be broadcasting the Interstate races that day, but all of the day’s finals beginning at 8am, including the Schoolboys and Schoolgirls Eights Finals.
The final day of racing is sure to be a thriller, if the racing from earlier in the week is anything to go by. The event has been dominated by Victoria, with the state lifting the Rowing Australia Cup for the overall point score a record 13 times, while Queensland have won it twice in 2004 and 2014, and New South Wales have lifted the cup three times.

With the State Crews all confirmed and the event taking place this Sunday, Rowing Australia previews below the various cups that make up the event.

The King’s and Queen’s Cups will be presented on Sunday by His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd) and Her Excellency Lady Cosgrove.

Details of all the racing that has taken this place, over the past week, can be found on the RA and SIRR websites. You can also subscribe to the newsletter and view past editions here.

2016 Winner – New South Wales (NSW – Kate Murdoch)
This is the second year of the Women’s LTA Single Scull, and it is fantastic to see five entries from the States. This year, Kate Murdoch will no doubt have some good competition to retain her title from the likes of Emma Jago (Tasmania) and also Kathryn Ross who, despite being a Trunk and Arms athlete, is representing ACT in this boat class. Murdoch will be the hot tip to retain her title.

2016 Winner – New South Wales (NSW – Kevin du Toit)
Kevin du Toit claimed last year’s inaugural title and is back this year to defend it. He’ll face competition from scullers from the ACT, Queensland, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia. Queensland’s Mac Russell will be the one to watch, with the young man winning the Open LTA Men’s Single earlier in the week.

2016 Winner – Victoria (VIC)
The King’s Cup, donated by British monarch George V and won by the Australian Imperial Forces No.1 crew at the Royal Henley Peace Regatta in 1919 following the end of World War One, is the trophy of the Eight-oared Men’s Championship race.

The King’s Cup is always one of the high points of the event. The race to claim the King’s Cup should again come down to the two most prolific winners of the ornate trophy, Victoria and New South Wales, however this year’s South Australian crew is also looking particularly strong.

NSW will be looking to reclaim the trophy they have failed to win back over the last two years, however Victoria won’t make it easy for the men in light blue. New South Wales’ crew features Olympians Spencer Turrin and Alex Lloyd, while they’re joined by recently named Australian Rowing Team athletes Angus Moore, Alex Purnell, Jack Hargreaves and Hamish Playfair. Victoria see the return to their crew of Rio 2017 Olympic silver medallists, Josh Booth and Josh Dunkley-Smith who will no doubt bring the power. South Australia could be the dark horse this year, with the young crew joined by four Olympians, James McRae, Bryn Coudraye, Chris Morgan and Alex Hill.

2016 Winner – Victoria
The Victorian crew for the Queen’s Cup this year looks a little different with Kim Brennan, the Sutherland sisters and coxswain Sarah Banting not competing this year. However, the crew is still formidable to say the least, with three Rio Olympians – Jennifer Cleary, Jess Morrison and Lucy Stephan – as well as strong sweepers in the likes of Addy Dunkley-Smith and Katrina Werry.

It is hard to see any of the other crews chasing Victorians who are on an 12-year winning streak, however Queensland will no doubt be looking to bump up the silver medal that they have won the last two years. Word is that New South Wales has a strong crew out there, with Olympian Sarah Cook back in the boat after a few years out, and the crew eager to improve on past results.

2016 Winner – Western Australia (Rhys Grant)
With the reigning champion, Rhys Grant, not competing this year, it falls on Rio Olympian, David Watts, to try and retain the title for Western Australia. He will surely be hot favourite for the race, however he’ll face some stiff competition from fellow Rio Olympians Cameron Girdlestone (NSW) and James McRae (SA). Luke Letcher from ACT will be one to watch, with the sculler recently named in the Australian Rowing Team in the Men’s Double Scull, alongside Watts.

The battle between Watts and Girdlestone could be the main event, with the two finishing in a dead heat when they raced earlier this year at NSW State Championships.

2016 Winner – Victoria (Kim Brennan nee Crow)
With no Kim Brennan racing this year, it opens up the event to the younger generation of female scullers. All eyes will be on Maddie Edmunds from Queensland to take home her first win in the Nell Slatter Trophy, after the Queenslander won the Open Women’s Single Scull earlier this week. Edmunds will face competition from South Australia’s Olympia Aldersey and New South Wales’ Genevieve Horton, who finished second and third to her respectively in the Open event.

Amanda Bateman will be representing Victoria this year in the event, while Olympian Alexandra Hagan will row for WA and Georgia Nesbitt will represent Tasmania.

2016 Winner – Queensland
The history of this event has changed significantly in the past four years – prior to 2013, Queensland had never won the Penrith Cup. Now, with a winning streak of four in a row in the boat class, it’s likely Queensland will walk away with a fifth Penrith Cup for their trophy cabinet. This year’s crew sees the return of Hamish Parry and Jack Price, while they’re joined by Jack Armitage and James Doring.
New South Wales, Western Australia, Tasmania and Victoria all look to have built combinations that could challenge this year, however the Men in Maroon won’t be letting that winning streak end if they can help it.

2016 Winner – Victoria
Victoria will be looking to make it back-to-back victories this year and it’s hard to see anyone challenging the crew. Alice McNamara, Alice Arch and India McKenzie return, while Steph Radford is replaced this year by Meghan Hester. Unusually this year there is no entry from Tasmania, so there should be a good battle for second and third between New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia.

2016 Winner – New South Wales
This event brought out the race of the regatta in 2014 – Victoria rowing over the top of Queensland on the line to win by less than a second. In 2015, it was all change again with New South Wales snapping up victory followed by Queensland and Victoria. 2016 saw New South Wales take home the Cup, and they will no doubt be the ones to watch, however silver medallists Queensland will be wanting to get that elusive gold medal so can’t be discounted. Western Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and South Australia will all be pushing for a podium finish.

2016 Winner – Queensland
Queensland took home the Bicentennial Cup in 2016, a trophy they have won a total of seven times. This year’s crew features a couple of past underage Australian Rowing Team members in Lily Alton and Kelly Drenth. Victoria looks to be strong this year with the likes of Skye Froebel, Kirstie Green, Jackie Hart, Annika Hoffmann and Ria Thompson.

There are plenty of fresh faces amongst the crews, so there will definitely be some new faces on the podium.

Click here to live stream the 2017 Aon Sydney International Rowing Regatta.