Select Page

U21 Australian Rowing crew announced for 2017 Trans-Tasman Regatta

The Australian U21 Rowing Team will look to retain the Rusty Robertson Trophy as they take on New Zealand in the annual Trans-Tasman Regatta.

The Australian Team sees plenty of new faces with only one athlete, Kane Grant, returning from last year’s team. There are also a handful who have stepped up from previous junior representation including Lily Alton and Alexis Hancock.

The U21 series and team has created a positive development opportunity for our Pathway athletes transitioning between U19 and U23 age categories, many of whom have gone onto U23, Senior and now into the National Training Centres for both Men and Women. We look forward to this continuing with the 2017 Team.

The team features many recent Australian Champions including U21 Single Scull, Double Scull and Quadruple Scull champion Charles Wheatley, plus the duo of U21 Coxless Pair Australian Champions Grace Reid and Lara Wainwright.

The group will be led by Jason Lane as the U21 Head Coach. He will work with Lyall McCarthy in his capacity as the National Pathway Head Coach to ensure the effective delivery of this Team.
It is pleasing to have the experience of Jason to assist in leading this group, particularly as it is a camp based program with athletes being able to train and prepare in their daily training environments before coming together for a pre competition camp and then the racing itself.

Jason will be joined by four appointed coaches, Joe Tamigi, David Gely, Brigette Carlile and one further coach still to be confirmed.

The U21 Trans-Tasman Regatta is split over two competitions, the first in Sydney from 29 June to 1 July, and the second at Lake Karapiro, New Zealand, from 24 to 26 August.

U21 Australian Rowing Team

Crew Club or School, SIS/SAS, State
U21 Men’s Coxless Pairs  
Jack Deans Adelaide Rowing Club/SA
Kane Grant Adelaide Rowing Club/SASI/SA
Alexander Clarke Mercantile Rowing Club/VIC
Benjamin Canham Mercantile Rowing Club/VIC
U21 Men’s Single Sculls
Charles Wheatley Sydney University Boat Club/NSW
Devlin Walsh Sydney University Boat Club/NSW
U21 Men’s Lightweight Single Sculls  
Chase Deitner West Australian Rowing Club/WA
Patrick Boere Swan River Rowing Club/WA
Mitchell Reinhard Unley High/SA
U21 Women’s Coxless Pairs  
Grace Reid UTS Rowing Club/NSW
Lara Wainwright UTS Rowing Club/NSW
Gabi Morris West Australian Rowing Club/WA
Giorgia Patten West Australian Rowing Club/WA
U21 Women’s Single Sculls  
Lily Alton University of Queensland Boat Club/QLD
Siena Zamin West Australian Rowing Club/WA
U21 Lightweight Women’s Single Sculls  
Romola Davenport Sydney Rowing Club/NSW
Portia Bennett University of Queensland Boat Club/QLD
Celia Cowan Adelaide University Boat Club/SA
U21 Coxswains  
U21M8+: Alexis Hancock Mercantile Rowing Club/VIC
U21W8+: Caitlin Hockings University of Queensland Boat Club/QLD
Head Coach: Jason Lane SASI/SA
Brigette Carlile Mercantile Rowing Club/VIC
David Gely UTS Rowing Club/NSW
Joseph Tamigi West Australian Rowing Club/WA