Select Page

U21 Trans-Tasman series set to begin

The U21 Trans-Tasman Regatta is set to begin this week with Australia bidding to retain the Rusty Robertson Trophy. Australia will play host to New Zealand at the Sydney International Regatta Centre from 29 June to 1 July for the first leg of the regatta, with Australia travelling to Lake Karapiro, in New Zealand, for the second leg which will be held from 24 to 26 August.

This week’s racing will be able to be viewed live – by clicking here. Results and race schedules will be posted on the RA website under ‘Latest News’ and will also include an update at the end of each day on the points table. Listed below is a breakdown of points, a link to the race schedule and a list of the two teams competing at the event. Sweep and Sculling groups will once again combine to form Eights for racing later in the week.

Head Coach of the U21 Australian Rowing Team, Jason Lane, said: “We’re starting the week training alongside the Junior and U23 Australian Rowing Teams at their pre-departure camp which will no doubt provide us some good preparation ahead of racing later this week.

“There are plenty of new faces in this U21 team this year who are eager for Australia to retain the Rusty Robertson Trophy so I’m sure we’ll see some highly competitive racing in the first leg of the regatta.

“I’m also excited to be joined on the team this year by three coaches who will be coaching their first Australian Rowing Team – in Brigette Carlisle, David Gely and Joseph Tamigi. I am looking forward to working with both them and the athletes in what has become a great yearly event between Australia and New Zealand.”

 Points for racing will be awarded in the finals as follows:

  1. 1st – 6 points, 2nd – 4 points, 3rd – 2 points and 4th – 1 point for –W1x, M1x, W2- and M2-.
  2. 1st – 6 points and 2nd – 4 points for LW2x, LM2x, W4-, M4-, W4x, M4x, W8+ and M8+.
  3. 1st – 2 points and 2nd – 1 point for LW1x, LM1x and MixL2x.Medals will be awarded to the first-placed boat in each category.

Click here to view the race schedule for the Australia-leg of the 2017 Trans-Tasman Regatta.

U21 Australian Rowing Team
Men’s Coxless Pairs
Crew 1: Jack Deans (Adelaide RC/SA) and Kane Grant (Adelaide RC/SASI/SA)
Crew 2: Alexander Clarke and Benjamin Canham (both Mercantile RC/VIC)

Men’s Single Sculls
Crew 1: Charles Wheatley (Sydney University BC/NSW)
Crew 2: Devlin Walsh (Sydney University BC/NSW)

Lightweight Men’s Single Sculls
Chase Deitner (West Australian Rowing Club/WA)
Patrick Boere (Swan River RC/WA)
Mitchell Reinhard (Unley High/SA)

Women’s Coxless Pairs
Crew 1: Grace Reid and Lara Wainwright (both UTS Rowing Club/NSW)
Crew 2: Gabi Morris and Giorgia Patten (both West Australian RC/WA)

Women’s Single Sculls
Lily Alton (University of Queensland BC/QLD)
Siena Zamin (West Australian Rowing Club/WA)

Lightweight Women’s Single Sculls
Romola Davenport (Sydney RC/NSW)
Portia Bennett (University of Queensland BC/QLD)
Celia Cowan (Adelaide University BC/SA)

M8+ Coxswain: Alexis Hancock (Mercantile RC/VIC)
W8+ Coxswain: Caitlin Hockings (University of Queensland BC/QLD)

Head Coach: Jason Lane (SASI/SA)
Coaches: Brigette Carlisle (Mercantile RC/VIC); David Gely (UTS Rowing Club/NSW); Joseph Tamigi (West Australian RC/WA)

U21 New Zealand Team
Men’s Coxless Pairs
Crew 1: Ruben Houghton and Angus McFarlane
Crew 2: Fergus McSwiney and Cameron Steedman

Men’s Single Sculls
Crew 1: Jonathan Kumarich
Crew 2: Jared van Vianen

Lightweight Men’s Double Scull
Jordan Gasson and Joseph Graham

Men’s Reserve
James Brott

Women’s Coxless Pairs
Crew 1: Ruby Willis and Ellen Schroeder
Crew 2: Ella Simanu and Catherine Layburn

Lightweight Women’s Double Scull
Grace Shaw and Georgia Keech

Women’s Single Sculls
Crew 1: Alice Grave
Crew 2: Jessica Turfrey

Women’s Reserve
Sophie Egnot-Johnson

M8+ Coxswain: Natalie Bocock
W8+ Coxswain: Lucy Bird

Josh Schmidt (Women’s Scull)
Kaye Surgenor (Men’s Scull)
Steve Willis (Men’s Sweep)
Craig Smith (Women’s Sweep)