Select Page

Strong competition at 2017 Head of the Yarra

2017 Head of the Yarra was once again a spectacle event held on the beautiful Yarra River in Melbourne.

Rowing Australia entered our first PR3 Mixed Coxed Eight, who produced a fantastic time of 34:30.30 for their first race together and earned them a gold medal for the Para category. Having only met each other one week earlier, they came together for the #Traing4Tokyo Camp in Canberra last week and under the guidance of coach Gordon Marcks they trained tirelessly to get race ready. We are extremely proud of their efforts and can’t wait to see what they achieve in the future.

We also had over 30 male and female athletes from the two national training centres racing for either their club or for a composite crew. Racing was very competitive especially in the Male Open Eight with only 10 seconds separating the top 3.

Mercantile dominated the Women’s Open Eight while Sydney/Adelaide composite took home gold for the Male Open Eight.

The full list of athletes competing from the National Training Centres and results are listed below, a full list of results can be found here.

Reinhold Batschi Men’s National Training Centre

Melbourne University Boat Club

Result: 4th (25:41.00)

Caleb Antill (ANU, representing MUBC)

Joshua Booth

Simon Keenan

Luke Letcher (Black Mountain, representing MUBC)

David Watts (Swan River, representing MUBC)

Robert Black (Mosman RC, representing MRC)

Sydney Rowing Club

Result: 1st (25:25.60)

Nathan Bowden

Joshua Hicks

Alexander Hill (Adelaide RC, representing SRC)

Angus Moore

Spencer Turrin

Mercantile Rowing Club

Result: 2nd (25:34.75)

Liam Donald

Joshua Dunkley-Smith

Angus Widdicombe

Redmond Matthews

UTS Rowing Club

Result: 6th (27:15.39)

Benjamin Coombs

Timothy Masters

Hamish Playfair

Sydney University Boat Club

Result: 3rd (25:36.07)

Jack Hargreaves

Alexander Purnell

Nicholas Purnell

Campbell Watts

Queensland Composite

Result: 5th 26.49.19

Darcy Wruck (Commercial RC)

Hancock Prospecting Women’s National Training Centre

Mercantile Rowing Club

Result: 1st (28:48.54)

Addy Dunkley-Smith

Katrina Werry

Melbourne University Boat Club

Result: 2nd (29:01.71)

Lucy Stephan

Alice Arch

Sydney University Boat Club

Result: 4th (29:52:89)

Genevieve Horton

Rowena Meredith

Georgia Miansarow

Leah Saunders (Sydney RC, representing in SUBC boat)

Fiona Ewing

Georgina Gotch

University of Queensland

Result: 3rd (29:11.13)

Caitlin Cronin

Molly Goodman (Adelaide RC, representing UQ)