Select Page

Men’s Four win top award at 2018 World Rowing Awards

Australia’s 2018 World Championship winning crew named Men’s Crew of the Year at
World Rowing Awards

Australia’s Men’s Four were last night named the 2018 Male Crew of the Year at the 2018 World Rowing Awards held in Berlin, Germany. Alexander Hill, Jack Hargreaves, Spencer Turrin and Joshua Hicks were announced the winners after a spectacular 2018, which saw them win back-to-back World Championship titles and World Rowing Cups 2 and 3.

The crew were unable to attend the function, due to racing this weekend in the Head of the Yarra, with Rowing Australia Board Director, and Chair of the RA Athletes’ Commission, Hannah Every-Hall collecting the crew’s award on their behalf.

It is the second major award the crew has won this month; the Men’s Four were named the 2018 Male Crew of the Year at the recent Hancock Prospecting Rower of the Year Awards. The crew is also shortlisted for the upcoming 2018 AIS Sports Performance Awards in the Team of the Year category.

Australia’s World Champions, the Men’s Four (Copyright Rowing Australia)

Jack Hargreaves said, “We’re incredibly grateful and honoured to receive this award from World Rowing and to be recognised for our achievements over the last year as a crew. We couldn’t have achieved what we did without the support of our coach, Ian Wright, along with everyone at Rowing Australia, Hancock Prospecting and the Australian Institute of Sport.”

Spencer Turrin added, “We’d also like to thank all our team-mates on the Australian Rowing Team and our clubs who have supported us on our journey to this point in the sport. But, most importantly, we’d like to thank our friends and families who support us day in and day out to be the best we can be.”

The 2018 World Champions beat off competition from the German Men’s Eight, the German Lightweight Men’s Single Scull, Jason Osbourne, and the Irish Lightweight Men’s Double Sculls of Paul and Gary O’Donovan, to take the top award.

The crew, coached by Men’s Head Coach Ian Wright, did not lose a race in 2018, picking up their second World Championships title at the 2018 World Rowing Championships held in Plovdiv, Bulgaria earlier this year. Prior to this crew winning the World Championships title in 2017, Australia’s Men’s Four had not won the World Championships in 26 years.

Alex Hill, Jack Hargreaves, Spencer Turrin and Josh Hicks (Copyright Rowing Australia)

Rowing Australia CEO, Ian Robson said, “On behalf of everyone at Rowing Australia and the Australian rowing community, we would like to congratulate the Men’s Four on being named the Male Crew of the Year. They were shortlisted alongside some of the best crews in the world and it is wonderful to see our Australian rowers recognised by the global governing body in this fitting way.”

The night also saw Tasmanian rower, Wilson Mure, shortlisted for the Filippi Spirit Award, an award that honours university student rowers for their commitment to World Rowing’s core values.

The University of Tasmania student was shortlisted alongside three university rowers from across the globe – James Francis from the USA, Nikola Potparevic from Serbia and Amidu Silva from Sri Lanka. Mure just missed out on the award, with Silva from Sri Lanka taking out the prize and winning his university club a a custom-built, top-of-the-range Filippi eight racing shell. The boat recognises the winner’s involvement in the club and helps the club to develop more young rowers in the future.

Notes to Editors

The Men’s Four have been competing as a crew since 2017 and have consistently performed on the world stage. In addition to winning the 2018 World Rowing Cups 2, 3 and the World Rowing Championships, the group joined five of their teammates to race at this year’s Henley Royal Regatta to win the Grand Challenge Cup for Men’s Eights.

Alexander Hill
Seat: Stroke
Club: Adelaide Rowing Club
State: South Australia
Jack Hargreaves
Seat: 2
Club: Sydney University Boat Club
State: New South Wales
Spencer Turrin
Seat: 3
Club: Sydney Rowing Club
State: New South Wales
Joshua Hicks
Seat: Bow
Club: Sydney Rowing Club
State: Western Australia