Select Page

Australian Rowing Team named for World Rowing Cups 2 and 3

Men’s and Women’s Sweep Squads named with further trialling to take place ahead of World Rowing Cups

Rowing Australia today named the Australian Rowing Team that will compete at World Rowing Cups 2 and 3. The crews and squads announced today are set compete at the World Rowing Cups to be held in Poland and The Netherlands in June and July this year.

The group of athletes named include Olympians and World Championship medallists who will be looking to use the World Rowing Cups as an opportunity to fine-tune their racing ahead of selection for the 2019 World Rowing Championships, which double as the 2020 Olympic Qualification Regatta.

2016 Olympic silver medallist Cameron Girdlestone makes a return to the national team, joining 2018 World Championship silver medallists, in the Men’s Quadruple Scull, Caleb Antill, Alexander Purnell and fellow Olympian David Watts. Meanwhile, Girdlestone’s fellow silver medallist in the Quad from Rio, Karsten Forsterling has been named as sculling reserve alongside David Bartholot.

Campbell Watts will this year join up with Hamish Playfair to race the Men’s Double Scull at the World Rowing Cups, while Leon Chambers has made the step up from the U23 Australian Rowing Team being named alongside Hamish Parry in the Lightweight Men’s Double Scull. In the female equivalent, Sarah Pound and Alice Arch have been named in the Lightweight Women’s Double Scull. Sean Murphy and Georgia Nesbitt are the Lightweight sculling reserves respectively.

The Bateman sisters of Amanda and Katrina will both race at this year’s World Rowing Cups. Katrina, the older of the two, will join Fiona Ewing, Rowena Meredith and senior team debutant Cara Grzeskowiak from Canberra, in the Women’s Quadruple Scull. Amanda will partner with 2016 Olympian Genevieve Horton in the Women’s Double Scull. 

Men’s and Women’s Sweep squads have been named for the World Rowing Cups with crews to be confirmed in the coming month ahead of the World Rowing Cups. Kendall Brodie and James Rook have been retained as the coxswains for the Men’s and Women’s Eights respectively.

Rowing Australia Performance Director, Bernard Savage said: “Ahead of the World Rowing Cups we’ve made the decision to name a men’s and women’s sweep squad. We are confident we have a really strong group of athletes, it is now about  selecting the best possible combinations for the boat classes we could be racing in – Pairs, Fours and Eights.

“We’ll use our simulation regattas to further test crew combinations ahead of the World Rowing Cups. It is important we have the best possible crews competing at the World Cups as part our preparation in the lead up to selections for the World Rowing Championships.

“We’re pleased to welcome back some experienced athletes into the team for the World Cups, alongside some athletes making the step up into their first senior team, and are looking forward to seeing what we can deliver at the regattas.”

The Australian Rowing Team will be reviewed post World Rowing Cup 3, with an announcement later in the year of the Team that will compete at the 2019 World Rowing Championships which doubles as an Olympic/Paralympic Games Qualification Regatta.

Key Dates

World Rowing Cup 2, Poznan, Poland – 21-23 June 2019

World Rowing Coup 3, Rotterdam, The Netherlands – 12-14 July 2019

Australian Rowing Team for World Rowing Cups 2 and 3

Name Club/State/SIS-SAS-NTC
Men’s Quadruple Scull  
Caleb Antill ANU Boat Club/ACT/RBNTC
Cameron Girdlestone Sydney University BC/NSW/RBNTC
Alexander Purnell Sydney University BC/NSW/RBNTC
David Watts Sydney Rowing Club/WA/RBNTC
Men’s Double Scull  
Campbell Watts Sydney University BC/NSW/RBNTC
Hamish Playfair UTS Rowing Club/NSW/RBTNC
Men’s Sculling Reserves  
David Bartholot Sydney University BC/NSW/RBNTC
Karsten Forsterling Melbourne University BC/VIC/VIS
Lightweight Men’s Double Scull  
Hamish Parry Toowong RC/QLD/QAS
Leon Chambers Sydney University BC/NSW/NSWIS
Lightweight Men’s Sculling Reserve  
Sean Murphy Mosman RC/NSW/NSWIS
Men’s Sweep Squad (reserves to come from the group)  
Robert Black Mosman RC/NSW/RBNTC
Joshua Booth Melbourne University BC/VIC/RBNTC
Liam Donald Mercantile RC/VIC/RBNTC
Sam Hardy Sydney Rowing Club/NSW/RBNTC
Jack Hargreaves Sydney University BC/NSW/RBNTC
Joshua Hicks Sydney Rowing Club/WA/RBNTC
Alexander Hill Adelaide RC/SA/RBNTC
Simon Keenan Melbourne University BC/VIC/RBNTC
Luke Letcher Black Mountain RC/ACT/RBNTC
Timothy Masters UTS Rowing Club/VIC/RBNTC
James Medway UTS Rowing Club/NSW/RBNTC
Angus Moore Sydney Rowing Club/NSW/RBNTC
Joseph (Jack) O’Brien Sydney University BC/NSW/RBNTC
Nicholas Purnell Sydney University BC/NSW/RBNTC
Spencer Turrin Sydney Rowing Club/NSW/RBNTC
Angus Widdicombe Mercantile RC/VIC/RBNTC
Coxswain: Kendall Brodie Sydney RC/NSW/NSWIS
Ian Wright Head Men’s Coach
Andrew Randell Senior Men’s Coach
Mark Prater Senior Men’s Coach
Women’s Double Scull  
Amanda Bateman Mercantile RC/VIC/HPNTC
Genevieve Horton Sydney University BC/NSW/HPNTC
Women’s Quadruple Scull  
Fiona Ewing Sydney University BC/NSW/NSWIS
Rowena Meredith Sydney University BC/NSW/NSWIS
Cara Grzeskowiak Capital Lakes RC/ACT/ACTAS
Katrina Bateman Mercantile RC/VIC
Lightweight Women’s Double Scull  
Sarah Pound UTS Rowing Club/NSW/HPNTC
Alice Arch Melbourne University BC/VIC/VIS
Lightweight Women’s Sculling Reserve  
Georgia Nesbitt Huon RC/TAS/HPNTC
Women’s Sweep Squad (reserves to come from the group)  
Olympia Aldersey Adelaide RC/SA/HPNTC
Bronwyn Cox UWA Boat Club/WA/HPNTC
Jacinta Edmunds Commercial RC/QLD/HPNTC
Lilly Tinapple Swan River RC/WA/HPNTC
Georgina Gotch Sydney University BC/NSW/HPNTC
Molly Goodman Adelaide Rowing Club/SA/HPNTC
Sarah Hawe Huon RC/VIC/HPNTC
Annabelle McIntyre Fremantle Rowing Club/WA/HPNTC
Jessica Morrison Mercantile RC/VIC/HPNTC
Rosemary Popa Banks Rowing Club/VIC/HPNTC
Georgina Rowe UTS Rowing Club/NSW/HPNTC
Leah Saunders Sydney Rowing Club/NSW/HPNTC
Lucy Stephan Melbourne University BC/VIC/HPNTC
Katrina Werry Mercantile RC/VIC/HPNTC
Ciona Wilson Tamar RC/TAS/HPNTC
Coxswain: James Rook Mercantile RC/VIC/VIS
John Keogh Head Women’s Coach
Ellen Randell Senior Women’s Coach
Tom Westgarth Senior Women’s Coach
Competing only in World Rowing Cup 2  
PR1 Men’s Single Scull  
Erik Horrie Sydney Rowing Club/NSW/NSWIS
Coach: Jason Baker Sydney RC/Scots College/NSW


RBNTC – Reinhold Batschi Men’s National Training Centre

HPNTC – Hancock Prospecting Women’s National Training Centre

NSWIS – New South Wales Institute of Sport

VIS – Victorian Institute of Sport

ACTAS – ACT Academy of Sport

QAS – Queensland Academy of Sport