Select Page

Australian Rowing Team confirmed for World Rowing Cup 2

17 Australian crews set to compete in Poznan, Poland from 21 to 23 June

The Australian Rowing Team will begin its World Rowing Cup campaign later this week with the team set to field 17 crews at World Rowing Cup 2. The regatta will run from 21 to 23 June on Lake Malta, in Poznan, Poland.

The majority of the Australian Rowing Team was announced in March this year, with the selectors having now finalised their sweep crews for World Rowing Cup 2.

2016 Rio Olympic silver medallists from the Men’s Four, Alexander Hill and Joshua Booth, have been selected into the Men’s Pair, while two-time World Rowing Champion, Jack Hargreaves, is joined in the Men’s Four by Nicholas Purnell, Timothy Masters and Jack O’Brien.

The Men’s Eight has seen two-time World Champions, in the Men’s Four, Spencer Turrin and Joshua Hicks, join its ranks. The duo are joined in the crew by Angus Widdicombe, James Medway, Angus Moore, Robert Black, Simon Keenan, Liam Donald and coxswain Kendall Brodie.

Meanwhile, in the women’s sweep, Annabelle McIntryre and Olympian Jessica Morrison will combine to race the Women’s Pair, before then joining the Women’s Eight. The new look Eight for 2019, sees 2018 World Rowing Championships silver medallist, Molly Goodman, in the stroke seat, with the South Australian joined by Leah Saunders, Jacinta Edmunds, Bronwyn Cox, Georgina Rowe, Rosemary Popa and coxswain James Rook.

The Women’s Four for World Rowing Cup 2, features 2018 World Rowing Championships silver medallists in the boat class – Lucy Stephan, Sarah Hawe and Katrina Werry – with the trio joined by Olympia Aldersey.

Rowing Australia Performance Director Bernard Savage said, “We’re looking forward to the team competing in its first World Rowing Cup of the season. The men and women arrived at the AIS European Training Centre last week, joining up with para-rowing World Champion Erik Horrie, with the group settling in well to our European training base.

“We’ve a big team that is excited to get out there and get racing against the rest of the world. This is our first major event (for our non-para-rowers) on the world stage ahead of what is going to be a big year for the Australian Rowing Team with the World Rowing Championships coming up in August – an event that doubles as Olympic and Paralympic qualification.”

Rowing Australia will be sharing daily racing updates and audio commentary and finals live-streaming can be accessed via

Australian Rowing Team for World Rowing Cup 2 – Poznan, Poland (21 to 23 June)

Name and Boat Current Club/Institute/State
Lightweight Men’s Single Scull  
Sean Murphy Mosman RC/NSWIS/NSW
Lightweight Men’s Double Scull  
Hamish Parry Toowong RC/QAS/QLD
Leon Chambers Sydney University BC/NSWIS/NSW
Men’s Pair  
Joshua Booth Melbourne University BC/RBNTC/VIC
Alexander Hill Adelaide RC/RBNTC/SA
Men’s Double Scull  
Hamish Playfair UTS RC/RBNTC/NSW
Campbell Watts Sydney University BC/RBNTC/NSW
Men’s Double Scull 2  
Luke Letcher Black Mountain RC/RBNTC/ACT
David Bartholot Sydney University BC/RBNTC/NSW
Men’s Four  
Timothy Masters UTS RC/RBNTC/VIC
Nicholas Purnell Sydney University BC/RBNTC/NSW
Jack Hargreaves Sydney University BC/RBNTC/NSW
Jack O’Brien Sydney University BC/RBNTC/NSW
Men’s Quadruple Scull  
Cameron Girdlestone Sydney University BC/RBNTC/NSW
Alexander Purnell Sydney University BC/RBNTC/NSW
David Watts Sydney RC/RBNTC/WA
Men’s Eight  
Liam Donald Mercantile RC/RBNTC/VIC
Robert Black Mosman RC/RBNTC/NSW
Angus Moore Sydney RC/RBNTC/NSW
Joshua Hicks Sydney RC/RBNTC/WA
Spencer Turrin Sydney RC/RBNTC/NSW
Simon Keenan Melbourne University BC/RBNTC/VIC
Angus Widdicombe Mercantile RC/RBNTC/VIC
Coxswain: Kendall Brodie Sydney RC/ RBNTC/NSW
PR1 Men’s Single Scull  
Erik Horrie Sydney RC/NSWIS/NSW
Lightweight Women’s Single Scull  
Georgia Nesbitt Huon RC/HPNTC/TAS
Lightweight Women’s Double Scull  
Alice Arch Melbourne University BC/VIS/VIC
Women’s Pair  
Jessica Morrison Mercantile RC/HPNTC/VIC
Annabelle McIntyre Fremantle RC/HPNTC/WA
Women’s Pair 2  
Lilly Tinapple Swan River RC/HPNTC/WA
Georgina Gotch Sydney University BC/HPNTC/NSW
Women’s Double Scull  
Amanda Bateman Mercantile RC/HPNTC/VIC
Genevieve Horton Sydney University BC/HPNTC/NSW
Women’s Four  
Olympia Aldersey Adelaide RC/HPNTC/SA
Katrina Werry Mercantile RC/HPNTC/VIC
Sarah Hawe Huon RC/HPNTC/VIC
Lucy Stephan Melbourne University BC/HPNTC/VIC
Women’s Quadruple Scull  
Fiona Ewing Sydney University BC/NSWIS/NSW
Cara Grzeskowiak Capital Lakes RC/ACTAS/ACT
Rowena Meredith Sydney University BC/NSWIS/NSW
Katrina Bateman Mercantile RC/VIS/VIC
Women’s Eight  
Leah Saunders Sydney RC/HPNTC/NSW
Jacinta Edmunds Commercial RC/HPNTC/QLD
Bronwyn Cox UWA Boat Club/HPNTC/WA
Georgina Rowe UTS RC/HPNTC/NSW
Rosemary Popa Banks RC/HPNTC/VIC
Annabelle McIntyre Fremantle RC/HPNTC/WA
Jessica Morrison Mercantile RC/HPNTC/VIC
Molly Goodman Adelaide RC/HPNTC/SA
Coxswain: James Rook Mercantile RC/HPNTC/VIC
Ciona Wilson Tamar RC/HPNTC/TAS
Sam Hardy Sydney RC/RBNTC/NSW
Coaches Boats
Reinhold Batschi Men’s National Training Centre  
Head Coach: Ian Wright Men’s Pair and Men’s Four
Senior Coach: Mark Prater Men’s Single, Double and Quadruple Sculls
Senior Coach: Andrew Randell Men’s Eight
Coach: Don McLachlan Lightweight Men’s Single and Double Sculls
Hancock Prospecting Women’s National Training Centre  
Head Coach: John Keogh Women’s Eight
Senior Coach: Ellen Randell Women’s Double Scull; Women’s Lightweight Single and Double Sculls
Senior Coach: Tom Westgarth Women’s Pair and Women’s Four
Coach: Don McLachlan Women’s Quadruple Scull  
Coach: Jason Baker PR1 Men’s Single Scull


RBNTC – Reinhold Batschi Men’s National Training Centre

HPNTC – Hancock Prospecting Women’s National Training Centre

NSWIS – New South Wales Institute of Sport

QAS – Queensland Academy of Sport

VIS – Victorian Institute of Sport

ACTAS – ACT Academy of Sport