Select Page

U21 Trans-Tasman Regatta begins tomorrow

Australia and New Zealand prepare to battle in Penrith in first leg of U21 series

The first leg of the 2019 Trans-Tasman Regatta is set to begin on Thursday (27 June) at the Sydney International Rowing Regatta, Penrith, New South Wales. The first leg runs from 27 June to 29 June, while the second leg will be held at Lake Karapiro, in New Zealand, from 22 to 24 August. The Trans-Tasman Regatta sees Australia and New Zealand’s U21 Rowing Teams battle it out to win the Rusty Robertson Trophy, which is currently held by Australia.

The U21 Australian Rowing Team (Copyright RA)

This week’s racing will be able to be viewed live – by clicking here. Results and links to the race schedule will be posted on the RA website under ‘Latest News’ and will also include an update at the end of each day on the points table. Listed below is a breakdown of points and a link to two teams competing at the event. Sweep and Sculling groups will combine to form Eights for racing later in the week.

Rowing Australia Deputy Performance Director, Jaime Fernandez said, “On behalf of everyone at Rowing Australia I would like to wish both teams well for the upcoming regatta and the Trans-Tasman series.

“It’s is a valuable part of our respective Pathway programs and provided athletes with an excellent opportunity to compete in multiple races across multiple boat classes.”

The second leg of the regatta will see Canada’s U21 team once again join Australia and New Zealand for the competition, however points for racing will only be awarded to Australia and New Zealand who compete for the Rusty Robertson Trophy.

The Rusty Robertson Trophy is named after Robertson, a New Zealander who coached both New Zealand (from 1967-76) and Australia (1979-84) in a prolific career. Robertson’s career saw him achieve many notable results with his crews, including overseeing two New Zealand crews to Olympic gold medals (1968 Men’s Four and 1972 Men’s Eight) as well as Australian crews to multiple World Championships as well as Australia’s Men’s Quadruple Scull to an Olympic silver medal at the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games.

 Points for racing will be awarded in the finals as follows:

  1. 1st – 6 points, 2nd – 4 points, 3rd – 2 points and 4th – 1 point for –W1x, M1x, W2- and M2-.
  2. 1st – 6 points and 2nd – 4 points for LW2x, LM2x, W4-, M4-, W4x, M4x, W8+ and M8+.
  3. 1st – 2 points and 2nd – 1 point for LW1x, LM1x and MixL2x.Medals will be awarded to the first-placed boat in each category.

U21 Australian Rowing Team for 2019 Trans-Tasman Regatta

U21 New Zealand Rowing Team for 2019 Trans-Tasman Regatta