Select Page

Junior Australian Rowing Team touchdown in Tokyo

2019 World Rowing Junior Championships begin on Wednesday in Tokyo, Japan

The Junior Australian Rowing Team are set to race this week at the 2019 World Rowing Junior Championships. The regatta takes place in Tokyo, Japan from 7 to 11 August and doubles as the Test Event for the 2020 Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The 2019 Junior Australian Rowing Team (Copyright Rowing Australia)

The event will host over 550 athletes from 50 nations, with Australia entering 20 athletes in six crews. The full team can be viewed here.

The draw will take place on Tuesday 6 August at 16:00 AEST (15:00 Japan time) and the racing will begin on Wednesday 7 August at 10:30 AEST (09:30 Japan time). All racing is due to be live streamed through World Rowing’s website www.worldrowing.com.

In addition to the livestream, World Rowing will be providing live audio and boat-tracking on its website, along with detailed results and race draws.

All the athletes set to compete in Tokyo will get to test the Tokyo 2020 regatta course. Known as the Sea Forest Waterway Regatta Course, it is situated in Tokyo Bay between two reclaimed islands. It has been specifically constructed in a former shipping channel to cater for an eight lane, buoyed course with wave protection along all sides.

Rowing Australia will be uploading a short daily wrap up of racing, to its website, each afternoon. While images of Australian crews racing (by day) are available for download here. Please credit: ©Rowing Australia. Photos are rights free for editorial use only.

Rowing Australia will be putting out a media release at the conclusion of the World Rowing Junior Championships on Sunday 11 August to summarise all the Junior Australian Rowing Team results – please note that due to RA’s Media Manager travelling with the Senior Team at this time, this may be slightly delayed. Any interview requests should be submitted to Lucy Benjamin on the details below.