Select Page

Fierce but friendly Australian Masters Rowing Championships wraps up in Ballarat

Masters’ competitors from across Australia have converged on Ballarat’s Lake Wendouree for the 2022 Australian Masters Rowing Championships.

750 athletes competed across the four-day event, with athletes aged in their 20s to their 90s travelling from far and wide, including the UK.

A fiercely contested Interstate Regatta saw several states take centre position on the dais.

South Australia claimed victory in the Interstate Men’s Eight while Queensland were convincing winners of the Interstate Women’s Eight.

The New South Wales and Victoria rivalry was on full display in the Men’s and Women’s Quadruple Scull, with Victoria winning both boat classes ahead of their northern counterparts.

ACT’s Sue Donoghoe won the Women’s PR3 Single Scull while Kevin Wall of New South Wales won the men’s title.

Congratulations to Torrens Rowing Club on winning the Women’s Eight Club Championships and Toowong Rowing Club who crossed the line in first in the Men’s race.

More than 90 clubs were represented across the competition and in the battle for the Club Point-Score, Toowong Rowing Club came out on top, defeating second positioned Melbourne RC and third-placed Mosman RC.

Tom Wilcox (Lindisfarne) won the Individual Point Score from second placed Patrick Bird (North Esk) and third placed Rodney Stewart (Dart Totnes).

Australian Masters Rowing Championships Snapshot:

Events: 197
Entries: 1290
Seats: 3987
Athletes: 749

This year’s event would not have been possible without the support of Rowing Victoria who stepped up to host the 2022 installment at short notice. A huge thank-you to the organisers, volunteers, and officials on the ground for their hard work in making this year’s event a success.

We also take this opportunity to thanks Coles for its support of the event, fueling our volunteers with fresh fruit and snacks across the weekend.