Select Page

Small Boats Take to the Course in Tricky Conditions on Day One of World Cup 2

The blustery European summer winds provided a challenge for our small boats at Lake Malta in Poznan, Poland on day one as the Australian team began their World Cup 2 campaign with the heats of the single sculls and pairs.

The random draw saw both Australian Men’s scullers placed in the third heat with Dutch sculler Melvin Twellaar who took the Silver in World Cup 1, barely a second behind German giant Ollie Zeidler at the previous regatta. David Bartholot had a fast start which put him in the lead through the first 500m with Sam Marsh in third, however the on-form Dutch sculler pushed past Bartholot through the 1000m mark and held his lead to secure the solo straight qualifying position to the A/B Semi-final. Our Australian scullers Bartholot and Marsh took second and third respectively and will contest their Semi-final positions in the repechages on day two.

Bartholot said that while the conditions were the best they have seen since arriving at the course, it was still tough racing.

“I was quite nervous at the start, but it was good to get out there and give it a good crack, I’m looking forward to the repechage tomorrow. I’ll hopefully go out there and win it, but there are some good single scullers out there, so I’ll do my best, stay in my boat, and hopefully get the best out of myself.”

Tara Rigney debuted her single scull campaign in the first heat of the event; Rigney had a patient start, crossing in fourth position through the 500- and 1000-meter markers. A well-executed third 500m push saw Rigney to push her bow in front of the Bulgarian who had held the third place, to put herself in the all-important qualifying position. Rigney held this position behind Dutch leaders Karolien Florijn and Lisa Scheenaard to finish in third place and secured her place in the A/B Semi-final.

The Women’s Pair of Eliza Gaffney and Genevieve Hart had a measured start, tailing the field through the first 500m marker in their heat. A second 500m push took them up in front of the French crew beside them into fifth place, where they held their position through to the final marker. The winners from the USA took the solo direct qualifying A/B Semi-final position, leaving the remainder of the field to contest the repechage.

Racing will continue tomorrow (Friday 17 June) on day two of the event at 9am local time (5pm AEST) with the remainder of the competing Australian Rowing Team racing their heats in the morning (local time). New athlete lane selection rules will see rowers select their own lanes for subsequent rounds, beginning with the repechages. Read more on these rules below.

The racing schedule and up-to-date information regarding the regatta can be found below with a link to the World Rowing website. Live racing updates and commentary can be viewed through the World Rowing website, and A finals can be seen on Foxtel or Kayo on Sunday 19 June, 18:05 to 22:45 (AEST).

Find all the latest on World Rowing Cup 2 here:

Read about the new Athlete Selection Rules here:

World Cup 2 Crew Lists 


Lwt W1x

Georgia Nesbitt

Coach: Ellen Randell


Lwt W2x

B) Anneka Reardon

S) Lucy Coleman

Coach: Ellen Randell



Tara Rigney

Coach: Ellen Randell



B) Genevieve Hart

S) Eliza Gaffney

Coach: Tom Westgarth



B) Georgie Gleeson

2) Rowena Meredith

3) Harriet Hudson

S) Kate Rowan

Coach: John Keogh



B) Lucy Stephan OAM

2) Katrina Werry

3) Bronwyn Cox

S) Annabelle McIntyre OAM

Coach: John Keogh



B) Eleanor Price

2) Jean Mitchell

3) Paige Barr

4) Jacqueline Swick

5) Ella Bramwell

6) Giorgia Patten

7) Georgina Rowe

S) Emma Fessey

Cox: Talia Barnet-Hepples

Coach: Tom Westgarth



PR1 M1x

Erik Horrie OAM

Coach: Jason Baker OAM



Lwt M1x

Oscar McGuinness

Coach: David Fraumano


Lwt M2x

B) Redmond Matthews

S) Hamish Harding

Coach: David Fraumano



AUS 1 – Sam Marsh

AUS 2 – David Bartholot

Coach: Lyall McCarthy



B) Caleb Antill

S) Jack Cleary

Coach: Lyall McCarthy



B) Alexander Purnell OAM

2) Spencer Turrin OAM

3) Jack Hargreaves OAM

S) Jack O’Brien

Coach: Rhett Ayliffe


B) Sam Hardy

2) Henry Youl

3) Benjamin Canham

4) Angus Widdicombe

5) Jackson Kench

6) Simon Keenan

7) Patrick Holt

S) Rohan Lavery

Cox: Kendall Brodie

Coach: Mark Prater