Select Page

Athletes Invited To Commonwealth Games Regatta

Three athletes have been invited to represent Australia at the upcoming 2022 Commonwealth Rowing Association (CRA) Beach Sprint Championships held at Walvis Bay, Namibia from 2 to 4 December 2022.  The regatta will be hosted by the CRA in conjunction with the Namibian Canoe and Rowing Federation. 

Marcus Della Marta from UTS Rowing Club and Elizabeth Newell from the University of Queensland Rowing Club (UQ) will race in their respective boat classes – Men’s and Women’s Solo, while UQ’s Morgan Hodgson will combine with Newell to compete in Mixed Double Scull.  

Della Marta is no stranger to the international rowing scene, as he was part of the Men’s Quadruple Sculls at the World Under 23 Rowing Championships in July this year.   

The Beach Sprint Rowing format will comprise a beach sprint to the boat, 250 meters rowing out, slaloming through buoys, a turnaround at the top buoy, then 250 meters rowing back to the beach, and finishing with a beach sprint.  

Marcus, Elizabeth, and Morgan were invited based on their performances at the 2022 Australian Coastal Rowing and Beach Sprint Championships.  This is the first time Rowing Australia has selected athletes to compete at an international Coastal Rowing regatta. 

With the recent announcement by the Commonwealth Games Federation that Coastal Rowing will be part of the 2026 Commonwealth Games held in Victoria, Rowing Australia intends to send more Australian athletes for future international Coastal Rowing regattas. 

Rowing Australia CEO, Ian Robson said, “This is very exciting news, and it is also a perfect start to our International Coastal Rowing journey.  We want to get more athletes involved in Coastal Rowing and the best way to inspire others is by giving our athletes a chance to represent Australia.  Congratulations to Marcus, Elizabeth and Morgan on their selection and we wish them the best of luck for this historical regatta.”  

Information regarding the CRA Regatta website and digital media platforms will be shared at a later date.