Select Page

Australians nominated for 2015 World Rowing Awards

World Rowing today announced the shortlists for its 2015 World Rowing Awards and there are Australians featured in three categories of this year’s pinnacle awards ceremony for rowing.

The 2015 World Rowing Champion in the Women’s Single Scull, Kim Crow, has been short-listed in the 2015 World Rowing Female Crew of the Year. She is up against the US Women’s Eight that earned their record 10th straight win at World Championships in that boat class as well as Great Britain’s Women’s Pair, Heather Stanning and Helen Glover.

Last year’s World Rowing Para-Rowing Crew of the Year winner, Erik Horrie (ASM1x) is once again nominated in the same category again this year after winning his third successive World Rowing Championships this year. Joining Horrie on the short-list is fellow Australians and 2013 World Rowing Para-Rowing Crew of the Year, Kathryn Ross and Gavin Bellis of the TA Mixed Double Scull who also gained their third straight World Rowing Championships title this year, while Israel’s AS Women’s Single Sculler, Moran Samuel completes the shortlist in that category.

Finally, former RA Board Member and Deputy Chairman, John Boultbee, has been short-listed in the 2015 World Rowing Distinguished Services to International Rowing. Boultbee served as Secretary General of FISA from 1989-1995 and has also served as chair of FISA’s competitive rowing commission as well as a member of the FISA council and executive committee and was nominated for these services. He is short-listed alongside Borge Kaas-Andersen of Denmark and Magdalena Sarbachova of the Czech Republic.

The award winners will be announced on 20 November 2015 and then the winners will be presented with their award on 21 November in Sarasota, Florida, USA at the 2015 World Rowing Coaches Conference gala dinner.

Read about the other awards on the World Rowing website here.