Select Page

Australian Rowing Team readies for World Rowing Cup 2

12 crews set to compete in Linz-Ottensheim, Austria from 22 to 24 June; Finals set to be live-streamed on

Team biographies available here

The 2018 Australian Rowing Team will open its international racing season this weekend at World Rowing Cup 2 in Linz-Ottensheim, Austria. A total of 12 Australian crews will race at the 31-country event that runs from 22 to 24 June.

Racing begins on Friday 22 June at 18:00 AEST with heats for the para-rowing boat classes followed by the International and Olympic boat classes. In a departure from the normal format, the first round of all events will be raced as time trials. This is to allow athletes and officials a chance to test one of the possible contingency scenarios at the Olympic regatta in 2020.

The event will see the return of a number of 2018 World Championship medallists from Australia. Australia’s World Championship winning Men’s Four remains unchanged with Alexander Hill, Jack Hargreaves, Spencer Turrin and Joshua Hicks set to race this weekend in a field that includes 10 countries.

Australia’s Women’s Four that claimed gold medals at World Rowing Cup 2, 3 and the 2017 World Championships welcomes Rosemary Popa to its ranks, she joins returning members Molly Goodman, Sarah Hawe and Lucy Stephan in 2018.

Rowing Australia Performance Director, Bernard Savage said, “This is the first opportunity that the team will have to compete internationally this year. This is a chance for us to benchmark ourselves against other countries for the first time this season and see how we are preparing ahead of the World Championships later this year.

“We’ve a number of athletes making their debuts for Australia at this event and the World Cup in Linz is a good opportunity for them experience world class competition for the first time.

“Linz will also play host to the World Championships in 2019, which will double as the qualification regatta for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games. This World Cup regatta is also valuable opportunity for us to learn as much as we can about the venue and our operations so we are as prepared as possible for next year.”

Australia’s Women’s Eight will be making its first appearance on the international stage since the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. The crew will be coxed James Rook, who will be making history as Australia’s first male coxswain of a women’s eight. The crew also includes five athletes making their Senior Australian Rowing Team debuts – Addy Dunkley-Smith, Jacinta Edmunds, Ciona Wilson, Emma Fessey and Georgina Rowe.

Australia’s Men’s Eight will be coxed for the first time by a female coxswain, Kendall Brodie, who is making her Australian Rowing Team debut at World Rowing Cup 2. Joining Brodie will be a mixture of youth and experience in her Men’s Eight, with the return of Olympians Joshua Booth and Nicholas Purnell to fold as well as first time senior appearances for 2017 U23 Men’s Four World Champions Liam Donald and Robert Black.

Maddie Edmunds will make her first appearance in the Women’s Single Scull at the World Rowing Cups, with the Queenslander moving from the Women’s Double (where she won bronze in 2017 at the World Rowing Championships) into the single. Meanwhile, fellow 2017 bronze medallist, Olympia Aldersey, joins the Women’s Quadruple Scull alongside Olympian Genevieve Horton, as well as Rowena Meredith and Caitlin Cronin.

In the lightweight categories, the Lightweight Men’s Quadruple Scull this season sees the return of 2017 World Championship team members, James Kerr and Cameron Fowler. Queensland’s Blaine Heseltine and South Australian Jack Kelly join them this year, with both athletes making their Senior Australian Rowing Team debuts Hamish Parry makes the move in the Lightweight Men’s Single Scull.

In the female events, the Lightweight Quadruple Scull crew that won silver at the 2017 World Rowing Championships, returns to race in Austria. Alice Arch, Amy James, Georgia Miansarow and Georgia Nesbitt have divided into Lightweight Double Sculls due to the Lightweight Quadruple Scull not being available for them to race.

Sarah Pound and Katrina Werry are currently returning from injury and are unavailable to race at World Rowing Cup 2.

In addition to the above-mentioned injuries, due to medical reasons, Hamish Playfair (UTS Rowing Club) and Michael McNamara (Mercantile RC) were unable to travel for the World Rowing Cups, while Annabelle McIntyre (Fremantle RC) has recently returned to Australia due to injury. All three athletes are recovering in their home environments and will re-join the National Training Centre groups post the World Rowing Cups.

To discover more about the Australian Rowing Team competing at World Rowing Cups 2 and 3, you can click on this link to view the ARTeam Biographies page.

The race draw for Friday will be available here on World Rowing’s website. Daily results can be tracked via World Rowing, while they will be live-streaming the A-Finals on both Saturday 23 and Sunday 24 June.

2018 Australian Rowing Team for World Rowing Cup 2, Linz, Austria (SIS/SAS, Club and State in brackets)

Lightweight Men’s Single Scull
Hamish Parry (QAS/Toowong Rowing Club/QLD)

Lightweight Men’s Quadruple Scull
Cameron Fowler (Swan River RC/WA)
Jack Kelly (RBNTC/Adelaide RC/SA)
Blaine Heseltine (University of Queensland BC/QLD)
James Kerr (WAIS/University of WA BC/WA)

Men’s Single Scull
Campbell Watts (RBNTC/Sydney University BC/NSW)

Men’s Four
Joshua Hicks (RBNTC/Sydney RC/WA)
Spencer Turrin (RBNTC/Sydney RC/NSW)
Jack Hargreaves (RBNTC/Sydney University BC/NSW)
Alexander Hill (RBNTC/Adelaide RC/SA)

Men’s Quadruple Scull
Caleb Antill (RBNTC/ANU Boat Club/ACT)
Alexander Purnell (RBNTC/ Sydney University BC/NSW)
Luke Letcher (RBNTC/ Black Mountain RC/ACT)
David Watts (RBNTC/ Sydney RC/ WA)

Men’s Eight
Angus Moore (RBNTC/ Sydney RC/ NSW)
Angus Widdicombe (RBNTC/ Mercantile RC/ VIC)
Liam Donald (RBNTC/ Mercantile RC/ VIC)
Timothy Masters (RBNTC/ UTS Rowing Club/ VIC)
Nicholas Purnell (RBNTC/ Sydney University BC/ NSW)
Simon Keenan (RBNTC/ Melbourne University BC/ VIC)
Joshua Booth (RBNTC/ Melbourne University BC/ VIC)
Robert Black (RBNTC/ Mosman RC/ NSW)
Kendall Brodie (NSWIS/ Sydney RC/ NSW)

Women’s Single Scull
Madeleine Edmunds (HPWNTC/ Commercial RC/ QLD)

Lightweight Women’s Double Scull 1
Georgia Miansarow (HPWNTC/Sydney University BC/NSW)
Georgia Nesbitt (HPWNTC/Huon RC/TAS)

Lightweight Women’s Double Scull 2
Alice Arch (HPWNTC/Melbourne University BC/VIC)
Amy James (HPWNTC/Toowong RC/QLD)

Women’s Four  
Lucy Stephan (HPWNTC/ Melbourne University BC/ VIC)
Rosemary Popa (HPWNTC/ Banks RC/ VIC)
Sarah Hawe (HPWNTC/ Huon RC/ VIC)
Molly Goodman (HPWNTC/ Adelaide RC/ SA)

Women’s Quadruple Scull
Genevieve Horton (HPWNTC/ Sydney University BC/ NSW)
Caitlin Cronin (HPWNTC/ University of Queensland BC/ QLD)
Rowena Meredith (HPWNTC/ Sydney University BC/ NSW)
Olympia Aldersey (HPWNTC/ Adelaide RC/ SA)

Women’s Eight
Leah Saunders (HPWNTC/ Sydney RC/ NSW)
Hannah Vermeersch (HPWNTC/West Australian RC/WA)
Georgina Gotch (HPWNTC/ Sydney University BC/ NSW)
Addy Dunkley-Smith (HPWNTC/ Mercantile RC/ VIC)
Jacinta Edmunds (HPWNTC/ Commercial RC/ QLD)
Ciona Wilson (HPWNTC/ Tamar RC / TAS)
Georgina Rowe (UTS Rowing Club/ NSW)
Emma Fessey (UTS Rowing Club/NSW)
James Rook (VIS/ Mercantile RC/ VIC)