Select Page

Four Junior Australian crews head into A-Finals

Four Junior Australian crews will contest A-Finals in Rio de Janeiro today (Saturday). The Junior Men’s Single Scull, the Junior Women’s Double Scull, the Junior Men’s Coxed Four and the Junior Women’s Eight will all be competing for medals in A-Finals in Brazil at the World Rowing Junior Championships, while the Junior Women’s and Men’s Fours will compete in B-Finals.

On Friday, just three crews competed for Australia, with Adam Bakker first up in the Junior Men’s Single. The young Queenslander raced in the semi-final of his boat class and finished in second to secure a place in today’s A-Final. Following, Bakker, Georgia Wheeler and Bridget Badenoch competed in the semi-final of the Junior Women’s Double and also finished second and booked a place in the A-Finals today.

Meanwhile, the Junior Men’s Four of Tom Franey, Angus Morrison, Tom Davidson and Callum Chisholm finished sixth in their semi-final and will thus compete in the B-Final of their boat class.

With all racing scheduled to be completed on Saturday, due to predicted adverse weather conditions for Sunday, supporters can follow all the action via World Rowing’s website and via our social media channels.


Race times for the Junior Australian Rowing Team for Saturday 8 August

Junior Women’s Four – Charlotte Medway, Madeleine Southall, Lily Alton-Triggs and Josephine Theile, B-Final, Lane 2 22:00AEST (09:00 Local Time).

Junior Men’s Four – Thomas Franey, Callum Chisholm, Angus Morrison and Thomas Davidson, B-Final, Lane 5, 22:10 AEST (09:10 Local Time).

Junior Men’s Single Scull – Adam Bakker, A-Final, Lane 2, 22:30 AEST (09:30 Local Time).

Junior Women’s Double Scull – Bridget Badenoch & Georgia Wheeler, A-Final, Lane 5, 23:35 AEST (10:35Local Time).

Junior Men’s Coxed Four – Toby Starkey, Thomas Barnes, Hamish McDonald, Henry Kamp and Benjamin Doyle, A-Final, Lane 5, 00:01 AEST (11:01 Local Time).

Junior Women’s Coxed Eight – Jacqueline Hart, Annika Hoffman, Kirsten Trengove-Green, Maddison Brown, Chloe Betts, Sasha Culley, Bridgette Hardy, Sarah Harte and Alexis Hancock, A-Final, Lane 6 00:53 AEST (11:53 Local Time).