Select Page

Nominations for RA Athletes’ Commission Chair

Dear Athletes & RA Alumni,

What a big four-year cycle we have seen for rowing in Australia. With the establishment of our National Training Centres (Hancock Prospecting and Reinhold Batschi) and the Covid-19 virus transforming the way we live and operate as we once knew it, and postponing the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games to 202One! It has been anything but dull.

However, as focus on competing in two Olympic Games in the next four years, as a matter of priority, we need to elect a Chair for the Rowing Australia Athletes’ Commission. Hannah Every-Hall is the incumbent Chair, with her term expiring at the end of October 2020. Hannah is not eligible for re-election, having served the maximum four-year term.

The new Chair cannot be a current Australian team rower but must have competed on the Australian Rowing Team in the past eight years.

The Chair acts as a conduit between the athletes and  RA executive team as well as on the Rowing Australia Board (as a full voting member) and coordinates the RA Athletes’ Commission.

We encourage all those of you who are interested in this role to submit a one-page expression of interest and a brief CV, to Dhuse Manogram [email protected] (Rowing Australia Company Secretary) by 17:00 AEST on Friday 11 September.

The election process will work as follows:

Friday 11 September 2020:  Deadline for nominations. Self-nominations are recommended (and encouraged- since the role requires a large time commitment, we need a highly motivated individual, with excellent time management skills in the position)

Monday 14 September 2020:  Rowing Australia Athletes’ Commission meets by teleconference to discuss candidates. RAAC may nominate someone to the RA Board at this point, or put candidates to a vote of current Australian Senior A Team members.

Friday 18 September 2020: Vote (if required) closes.  Please think carefully about who you would like to support you and represent you to the RA Executive and the Board.

Monday 21 September 2020: Rowing Australia Athletes’ Commission meets via teleconference to confirm the nomination.

Wednesday 22 September 2020: RA Board to consider nomination by circular resolution

The current Rowing Australia team leadership team and non-nominating appointed Athlete Commission members, with administrative assistance from Rowing Australia, will facilitate this process.

Kind Regards,

Rowing Australia Leadership Group 2020

(Rosie Popa, Georgia Nesbitt, Renae Domaschenz, Erik Horrie, Jack Hargraves, Cameron Girdlestone, David Watts, Georgie Howe)