Select Page

Rowing Australia announces two additional crews for 2017 World Rowing U23 Championships

U23 Women’s Four and U23 Men’s Coxed Four added to team

Rowing Australia today announced the addition of two crews to its U23 Australian Rowing Team that will compete at the 2017 World Rowing U23 Championships to be held in Plovdiv, Bulgaria from 19 to 23 July.

An U23 Women’s Four and an U23 Men’s Coxed Four has been selected in addition to the five crews that were selected in April this year. The selected crews were chosen after having been invited to the trial at the second U23 National Selection Trials that concluded today (Thursday).

The U23 Women’s Four will be made up of Rafaela Stalph from New South Wales, who is currently studying and rowing out of Harvard University in the USA, along with Victorian athletes Amanda Bateman, India Dempsey and Elise Franetic. The crew will be coached by Annabelle Eaton from Melbourne University BC.

The U23 Men’s Coxed Four features New South Welshmen Sam Hardy (currently studying and rowing out of Harvard University) and Andrew Judge, West Australian Sam Marsh, Tasmanian Henry Youl and coxswain Georgia Litt from South Australia. The crew will be coached by Ben Southwell, the Head Rowing Coach of Queensland Academy of Sport.

Pathways Head Coach and selector, Lyall McCarthy said: “It’s great to have been able to select two additional crews to compete at the World Rowing U23 Championships next month. A number of those selected were athletes who weren’t successful at the first Underage National Selection Trials and who have gone away and improved on their performance substantially to earn selection, which is extremely pleasing.

“We feel we have a strong team of seven crews set to compete in Plovdiv and we’re looking forward to travelling to Italy at the start of next week to prepare at the AIS European Training Centre ahead of the regatta.”

U23 Australian Rowing Team to compete at 2017 World Rowing U23 Championships
(US University (if applicable), Club, SIS/SAS and State in brackets)

U23 Women’s Four
Rafaela Stalph (Harvard/Sydney University BC/NSW)
Amanda Bateman (Mercantile RC/VIC)
India Dempsey (Mercantile RC/VIC)
Elise Franetic (Melbourne University BC/VIC)
Coach: Annabelle Eaton (Melbourne University BC/VIC)

U23 Men’s Coxed Four
Henry Youl (Tamar RC/TIS/TAS)
Sam Hardy (Harvard University/Sydney RC/NSW)
Sam Marsh (Swan River RC/WAIS/WA)
Andrew Judge (Sydney University BC/NSW)
Coxswain – Georgia Litt (Adelaide University BC/SA)
Coach: Ben Southwell (QAS/QLD)

U23 Women’s Quadruple Scull
Caitlin Cronin (University of Queensland BC/HPWNTC/QLD)
Rowena Meredith (Sydney University BC/HPWNTC/NSW)
Genevieve Horton (Sydney University BC/HPWNTC/NSW)
Harriet Hudson (Sydney RC/NSWIS/NSW)
Coach: Ellen Randell (HPWNTC)

U23 Women’s Pair
Annabelle McIntyre (Femantile RC/WAIS/WA)
Bronwyn Cox (University of WA/WAIS/WA)
Coach: Rhett Ayliffe (WAIS/WA)

U23 Lightweight Women’s Quadruple Scull
Wallis Russell (Sydney University BC/QAS/QLD)
Verayna Zlim (Adelaide RC/SASI/SA)
Madeleine Williams (University of Queensland BC/QLD)
Georgina Masters (UTS RC/NSWIS/NSW)
Coach: Alfie Young (Sydney University BC/NSW)

U23 Men’s Four
Harley Moore (University of Queensland BC/QAS/QLD)
Adam Bakker (University of Queensland BC/QAS/QLD)
Liam Donald (Mercantile RC/VIS/VIC)
Rob Black (Mercantile RC/NSWIS/NSW)
Coach: Antonio Maurogiovanni (Swan River RC/WA)

U23 Men’s Single Scull
Caleb Antill (Australian National University BC/RBNTC/ACT)
Coach: Rhett Ayliffe (WAIS/WA)


HPWNTC: Hancock Prospecting Women’s National Training Centre
NSWIS: New South Wales Institute of Sport
VIS: Victorian Institute of Sport
SASI: South Australian Institute of Sport
TIS: Tasmanian Institute of Sport
WAIS: West Australian Institute of Sport
QAS: Queensland Academy of Sport