Select Page

Rowing Australia President appointed to the Board of the Brisbane 2032 Organising Committee

Rowing Australia President Rob Scott is one of five leaders of business and industry recently named an independent director of the Board of the Organising Committee for the Brisbane 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Scott, a Silver Medallist in Rowing (Atlanta 1996) and CEO and Managing Director of Wesfarmers, was amongst the final cohort of individuals named to the Committee. Other appointees announced at this time include President Andrew Liveris AO and independent directors Sarah Kelly OAM, Brett Clark and Shelley Reyes.

The five new independent directors join 16 other directors who come from diverse backgrounds, including multiple Olympic and Paralympic representatives.

Other board members include John Coates AC, Vice President of the IOC and the President of the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC), the President of Paralympics Australia Jock O’Callaghan, Brisbane Lord Mayor The Right Honourable Councillor Adrian Schrinner, three-time Olympian Bronte Barratt OAM OLY and the triple Paralympic gold medallist Kurt Fearnley AO PLY.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison said the Commonwealth and Queensland Governments had worked closely to select leaders who would bring the experience, skills and drive that would help make the Games a success.

“These Games aren’t just an opportunity for our next generation of sporting talent, but they’re an opportunity to further unlock the potential of Queensland and spread the benefits across the country,” the Prime Minister said.

“The Board of the Organising Committee represents some of this country’s most successful leaders who will ensure the 2032 Games are the world’s best ever.”

The Premier and Minister for the Olympics Annastacia Palaszczuk said the Board reflects a breadth and depth of experience that also has its heart firmly in Queensland.

“This will be the biggest single transformational event in a generation,” the Premier said.

“Our job is to honour the commitments I made to the International Olympic Committee (IOC) but also provide a lasting legacy for our State and I am confident that is exactly what we will achieve.”

Adrian Schrinner Lord Mayor of Brisbane City Council said the critical stage of forming the OCOG Board for Brisbane 2032 was an important step forward.

“We are officially off and running now with the Board announced, and with 10 years to go we have time to ensure Brisbane is ready to be on the world stage in 2032.”

John Coates said Andrew Liveris is well-known to the IOC as the Chair of a former worldwide sponsor of the Olympic Games and the IOC is well-known to him.

“He adds tremendous value and international credibility.

“We have spoken many times about the enormous opportunity the Games presents Brisbane, Queensland and Australia in terms of supercharging sport, generating employment, fast-tracking necessary infrastructure and providing an enduring legacy for the Queensland community.

“Now we have a Board in place to deliver a great Games and to deliver on Brisbane’s promise to the IOC. Importantly, athletes will be at the centre of our planning.

“To that end, I am also delighted that with Rob Scott’s appointment today, there are five Olympians on the Board – all with very different business and life experiences. I am sure that Paralympics Australia is equally pleased with the appointment of three-time Paralympic champion Kurt Fearnley and the other Paralympic representatives.

“And more broadly, the breadth and diversity of skills across the Board table, ensures we are in the best possible position to deliver a great Games in Brisbane in just over ten years time.

“The ball is now in our court and I look forward to the first Board meeting later this month,” Mr Coates concluded.

Mr Jock O’Callaghan, President of the Australian Paralympic Committee said Brisbane 2032 was already setting a new standard.

“I am pleased to see the diversity of the Board, with representatives advocating for our First Nations People, and voices championing accessibility, inclusion, and the regions to ensure tangible and meaningful conversations are had at the Board table,” Mr O’Callaghan said.

The Board will ensure the OCOG raises revenue through sponsorship, philanthropy, ticketing and Brisbane 2032 merchandise, manages the temporary overlay and operation of the venues, and recruits the Brisbane 2032 volunteers, to make the Brisbane 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games a memorable and successful experience for all.

The inaugural meeting of the OCOG Board will be held later this month.

The Board of the Brisbane Organising Committee for the 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games (OCOG)


Andrew N. Liveris AO

Vice Presidents:

The Honourable Annastacia Palaszczuk MP, Premier and Minister for the Olympics

Senator the Honourable Richard Colbeck, Federal Minister for Senior Australians and Aged Care Services and Minister for Sport

The Right Honourable the Lord Mayor of Brisbane Councillor Adrian Schrinner, Brisbane City Council

Mr John Coates AC, Vice President of the International Olympic Committee and AOC President

Mr Jock O’Callaghan, President of Paralympics Australia

Board Directors:

Robyn Smith, Australian member of the International Paralympic Committee Governing Board

Matt Carroll AM, CEO of the Australian Olympic Committee

The Honourable Steven Miles MP

Mayor of Redland City Councillor Karen Williams

Ted O’Brien MP

Bronte Barratt OAM OLY

Kurt Fearnley AO PLY

Patrick Johnson OLY

Natalie Cook OAM OLY

Tracy Stockwell OAM

Rebecca Frizelle OAM

Sarah Kelly OAM

Shelley Reys AO

Rob Scott OLY

Brett Clark