Select Page

Schoolgirl’s Racing Preview

With school racing set to begin tomorrow (Thursday) at the 2019 Aon Sydney International Rowing Regatta. We take a look below at some of the contenders for the titles in the various divisions of the Schoolgirls races!

Schoolgirl’s Single Scull

The Schoolgirl’s Single Scull has 47 competitors this year making this the largest event at the 2019 Aon Sydney International Rowing Regatta. Amy Bain (Hobart College) is back to compete again this year, in 2018 she finished in fifth place in the A-final. Laura Sypher from Rockhampton Grammar is looking competitive after her performance in the U17 Women’s Single Scull earlier on in the week. Sypher won her heat in a time of 8:31.52, and is competing in tomorrow’s A-Final, while her sister Grace, is also competing for Rockhampton Grammar this week. Luka Currell (Christian College, Geelong) also raced in the U17 Women’s Single Scull winning her heat in 8:36.07. It will be a competitive competition in this boat class and will be a great one to watch.

Schoolgirl’s Coxed Quadruple Scull

The Schoolgirl’s Coxed Quadruple Scull has 26 boats racing this year, making this a competitive division. The crew to watch are Kinross Wolaroi who have just come off a win at the ACT Head of the Lake with a time of 6:38.13 over 1800m, the crew contains Isabella Scammell, Lucy Jenkins, Bridget Yeomans, Freya Neville, coxed by Jetta Kennett and coached by Olympian Sarah Cook. The crew from Canberra Girls Grammar came second at the ACT HOTL. From Victoria, Strathcona 1’s won the Victorian state titles for their division with a time of 7:44 over 2000m, in second were Korowa AGS who did a 7:49 and in third place PLC Melbourne, Ruyton did not compete in this race. The Victorian Head of the Schoolgirls regatta saw the Ruyton girls take the win with a 5:44.94 over 1500m, followed by Strathcona in second and Korowa third. The NSW State Championships saw two fo the top contenders go head-to-head Kinross Wolaroi and Ruyton with Kinross Wolaroi taking the win with a 7:11, while second went to Ruyton Girls with a time of 7:16 and a close third place Canberra Girls Grammar with a 7:17.

Schoolgirl’s Coxed Four

The Schoolgirl’s Coxed four has 20 boats competing this year, the ones to look out for are St Catherine’s NSW who won the the NSW state titles in a time of 7:40.19 followed in second place by Hunter Valley Grammar with a 7:51.86, and third were Canberra Girls Grammar with a 7:55.01. The schools from Victoria to watch are Ballarat Grammar who won both the Head of the Lake regatta in a 7:48.81 and the Head of Schoolgirls, meanwhile Lauriston Girls, who won the Victorian state title in a time of 7:57.37, will no doubt provide some stiff competition. It will be a great series of races between the boats the top competitors.

Under 17 Schoolgirl’s Coxed Eight

The U17’s Schoolgirl’s Coxed Eight will be an interesting race, as many entries are yet to compete in their respective compositions. The NSW State Championships saw the Queenwood crew take the win with a time of 7:08.93, followed in second place by Loreto Kirribilli with a 7:17.39 and Loreto-Toorak in bronze-medal place with a 7:21.61. MLC Kew and Geelong Grammar are yet to compete in their respected eights, although MLC Kew were highly competitive in the the Victorian Head of the Schoolgirls regatta winning their Division 1 Quad, and coming in second place in the Division 2 Quad Scull. Loreto-Toorak are the reigning champions for this division and showed promise at the NSW State Championships, although Queenwood and Loreto Kirriblli are looking like the top competitors in this field. The Wesley College Eight from Victoria is formed from their top two fours, giving them a competitive advantage as they have had more experience rowing sweep than some boats who were formed from Quads. The crew is coached by Olympian Hannah Every-Hall. The crews to watch in this division are the Queenwood boat, MLC Kew and Loreto-Kirribilli.

Schoolgirl’s Coxed Eight

The Schoolgirl’s Coxed Eight contains 20 boats from schools around Australia, making this a hotly contested boat class.  The top boats to look out for include MLC Kew from Victoria who recently won the Head of the Schoolgirls regatta last weekend. MLC, who are coached by Peter Kupcis, took out the VIC State title with a time of 6:46.56 over 2000m, the most competitive time coming into Nationals.

Geelong Grammar came in second place at the Victorian states with a 6:50.18 and St Catherine’s from Victoria came third at the same event, clocking a time of 6:57. Queenswood from NSW are one to look out for, taking out the NSW Schoolgirl Head of the River (HOTR) with a 6:48.58 followed very closely by Pymble Ladies, the Nationals reigning champions, with a 6:48.87. Scotch College from South Australia are the in good form after taking out the South Australian Head of the River, followed in second place by Seymour College. Collegiate from Tasmania are also looking competitive winning the Tasmania HOTR. It will be an interesting race to follow with the top boats to look out for being MLC Kew, Queenwood, Pymble Ladies and Geelong Grammar.

The winning MLC Kew crew from Head of the Schoolgirls (Image from Rowing Victoria)