Select Page

Tokyo Olympic Champions Selected into the National Training Centres

We are delighted to announce 49 athletes have been selected into the Hancock Prospecting Women’s National Training Centre and the Reinhold Batschi Men’s Training Centre. This selection marks the start of year two of a three year Olympic and Paralympic cycle to Paris 2024 – shortened due to the delayed Tokyo 2020 Games. 

The majority of the NTC squad are returning from the successful 2022 year, where our 2022 Australian Rowing Team won 15 World Cup medals and finished off the season by winning eight medals – two Silver and six Bronze – at the World Championships in Racice, Czech Republic. There are also a healthy number of returning Olympians who sat out the 2022 season. 

The Men’s Four Olympic Champions of Alex Hill OAM, Spencer Turrin OAM, Jack Hargreaves OAM, and Alex Purnell OAM have all returned to the Reinhold Batschi National Training Centre following their pursuits in the Men’s Pair (Hill with Harley Moore) and the Silver-medal winning Men’s Four of the remaining three athletes, which completed the crew with Jack O’Brien – who joins his crew mates in Canberra. 

We are also delighted to announce that of the Olympic Champion Women’s Four, three of those athletes will be returning to the Hancock Prospecting Women’s Training Centre, including 2022 World Bronze Medallists, Lucy Stephan OAM, and Annabelle McIntyre OAM. The third athlete to return is Jessica Morrison OAM, returning to Australia after spending some time in the United States, having also won the Hambleden Pairs at Henley Royal Regatta.   

Of the Olympic Bronze Medallists, it is great to confirm the continuation of Harriet Hudson, Rowena Meredith in the Women’s Program, who will be joined by returnees Ria Thompson and Caitlin Cronin. Whilst Caleb Antill (2022 World Bronze Medallist in the Men’s Double) and Jack Cleary (2022 World Finalist) will also continue in the Men’s Program. 

Other returning athletes, include members of the Tokyo Women’s Eight: Sarah Hawe; Molly Goodman; Olympia Aldersey plus Tim Masters from the Tokyo Men’s Eight, Joshua Hicks from the Tokyo Men’s Pair, as well as 2018 World Championship Men’s Quad Silver Medallist – Campbell Watts. 

Performance Director Paul Thompson MBE said, “It is exciting to welcome back some of our 2020 Olympians into our respective High-Performance programs, this shows the depth of the talent in Australia.  We have a good mixture of experience and youth, and both groups will push each other on a daily basis to challenge themselves and improve.” 

Thompson continued: “It’s been very competitive to gain a place in the 2023 NTC intake. We are very fortunate to have such strong pathways and clubs for those athletes who were not selected will continue to push their standard in their home states and show themselves through the Australian Rowing Team selection process. 

Looking ahead to the 2023 season, the team will be preparing for the World Cup season and the all-important 2023 World Championships, which doubles up as the Olympic and Paralympic Qualification Regatta. The team will next be competing at the 2023 Australian Rowing Championships in WA for their home clubs, before selection ahead of the World Cup season. 

2022/2023 Squads 


  1. Giorgia Patten 
  2. Eleanor Price  
  3. Georgina Rowe  
  4. Jacqueline Swick  
  5. Laura Gourley  
  6. Rowena Meredith  
  7. Kathryn Rowan  
  8. Amanda Bateman  
  9. Harriet Hudson  
  10.  Anneka Reardon  
  11. Lucy Coleman
  12.  Annabelle McIntyre OAM 
  13.  Lucy Stephan OAM 
  14. Bronwyn Cox  
  15. Katrina Werry  
  16. Tara Rigney  
  17. Sarah Hawe  
  18. Caitlin Cronin  
  19. Molly Goodman  
  20. Olympia Aldersey  
  21. Jaime Ford  
  22. Ria Thompson  
  23. Lily Alton  
  24. Jessica Morrison OAM 



  1. Alex Hill OAM 
  2. Harley Moore  
  3. Jack O’Brien  
  4. Jack Hargreaves OAM  
  5. Alex Purnell OAM 
  6. Spencer Turrin OAM 
  7. Jackson Kench  
  8. William O’Shannessy 
  9. Sam Hardy  
  10. Angus Widdicombe  
  11. Benjamin Canham  
  12. Henry Youl  
  13. Nicholas Lavery  
  14. Rohan Lavery  
  15. Patrick Holt  
  16. Simon Keenan  
  17. Jack Cleary  
  18. Caleb Antill  
  19. David Bartholot  
  20. Tim Masters  
  21. Joshua Hicks  
  22. Sam Marsh  
  23. Alexander Wolf  
  24. Campbell Watts 
  25. Kendall Brodie