Select Page

Under 21s continue bid to retain Rusty Robertson Trophy

Under 21 Australian Rowing Team take on New Zealand this week in second leg of Trans-Tasman Regatta

The second leg of the U21 Trans-Tasman Regatta is set to begin this week with Australia bidding to retain the Rusty Robertson Trophy. Australia currently lead New Zealand 155 points to 127 points ahead of the second leg of the regatta set to be held this week from 24 to 26 August on Lake Karapiro, New Zealand.

This week’s racing will be able to be viewed live – by clicking here. Results and race schedules will be posted on the RA Facebook page which will also include a short update at the end of each day on the points table. Listed below is a breakdown of points, a link to the race schedule and a list of the two teams competing at the event. Sweep and Sculling groups will once again combine to form Eights for racing later in the week.

Head Coach of the U21 Australian Rowing Team, Jason Lane, said: “Our young team had a great first leg of the Trans-Tasman earlier this year, in Penrith, and we’re hoping they can maintain their momentum as we take on New Zealand on Lake Karapiro.

“We had a good week of preparation based out of the Reinhold Batschi Men’s National Training Centre in Canberra and I’m sure the athletes and coaches are excited to race later this week and hopefully keep hold of the Rusty Robertson Trophy.”

Click here to view the race schedule for the Australia-leg of the 2017 Trans-Tasman Regatta.

 Points for racing will be awarded in the finals as follows:

  1. 1st – 6 points, 2nd – 4 points, 3rd – 2 points and 4th – 1 point for –W1x, M1x, W2- and M2-.
  2. 1st – 6 points and 2nd – 4 points for LW2x, LM2x, W4-, M4-, W4x, M4x, W8+ and M8+.
  3. 1st – 2 points and 2nd – 1 point for LW1x, LM1x and MixL2x.Medals will be awarded to the first-placed boat in each category.

U21 Australian Rowing Team
Men’s Coxless Pairs
Crew 1: Jack Deans (Adelaide RC/SA) and Kane Grant (Adelaide RC/SASI/SA)
Crew 2: Alexander Clarke and Benjamin Canham (both Mercantile RC/VIC)

Men’s Single Sculls
Crew 1: Charles Wheatley (Sydney University BC/NSW)
Crew 2: Devlin Walsh (Sydney University BC/NSW)

Lightweight Men’s Single Sculls
Chase Deitner (West Australian Rowing Club/WA)
Patrick Boere (Swan River RC/WA)
Mitchell Reinhard (Unley High/SA)

Women’s Coxless Pairs
Crew 1: Grace Reid and Lara Wainwright (both UTS Rowing Club/NSW)
Crew 2: Gabi Morris and Giorgia Patten (both West Australian RC/WA)

Women’s Single Sculls
Lily Alton (University of Queensland BC/QLD)
Siena Zamin (West Australian Rowing Club/WA)

Lightweight Women’s Single Sculls
Romola Davenport (Sydney RC/NSW)
Portia Bennett (University of Queensland BC/QLD)
Celia Cowan (Adelaide University BC/SA)

M8+ Coxswain: Alexis Hancock (Mercantile RC/VIC)
W8+ Coxswain: Caitlin Hockings (University of Queensland BC/QLD)

Head Coach: Jason Lane (SASI/SA)
Coaches: Brigette Carlisle (Mercantile RC/VIC); David Gely (UTS Rowing Club/NSW); Joseph Tamigi (West Australian RC/WA) and Edward Draydon (UQBC/QLD)

U21 New Zealand Team
Men’s Coxless Pairs
Crew 1: Ruben Houghton and Angus McFarlane
Crew 2: Fergus McSwiney and Cameron Steedman

Men’s Single Sculls
Crew 1: Jonathan Kumarich
Crew 2: Jared van Vianen

Lightweight Men’s Double Scull
Jordan Gasson and Joseph Graham

Men’s Reserve
James Brott

Women’s Coxless Pairs
Crew 1: Ruby Willis and Ellen Schroeder
Crew 2: Ella Simanu and Catherine Layburn

Lightweight Women’s Double Scull
Grace Shaw and Georgia Keech

Women’s Single Sculls
Crew 1: Alice Grave
Crew 2: Jessica Turfrey

Women’s Reserve
Sophie Egnot-Johnson

M8+ Coxswain: Natalie Bocock
W8+ Coxswain: Lucy Bird

Josh Schmidt (Women’s Scull)
Kaye Surgenor (Men’s Scull)
Steve Willis (Men’s Sweep)
Craig Smith (Women’s Sweep)