Select Page

Under 21s reclaim the Rusty Robertson Trophy

Australia’s Under 21 Rowing Team have secured the return of the Rusty Robertson Trophy in the Trans-Tasman Series against New Zealand. Strong racing on day two (Friday) of the series on Lake Karapiro, New Zealand saw the Australians further their unassailable lead over the Kiwis to secure the return of the trophy they relinquished last year.

Athletes experienced another day of challenging weather at day two of racing, with both sessions of racing seeing some tight finishes, with the Australians taking out four of the five races in the morning heats.

The Women’s Four (Ellen Pozzi, Bronwyn Cox, Ellie Parker, Kelly Drenth), Men’s Quadruple Sculls (Sean Murphy, Matt Curtin, Tyron Boorman, Sam Marsh) and Lightweight Mixed Double Sculls (Georgie Masters, Alec Paterson) all had convincing wins in the afternoon finals and came away with a medal.

Unfortunately, the Women’s Quadruple Sculls (Ria Thompson, Morgan Riemer, Verayna Zilam and Wallis Russell) was unable to replicate the form they displayed in the morning session and were narrowly beaten in the final and the Men’s Four (Kane Grant, Tim Santin, Callum Chisholm and Elliott Apel) were also beaten by a stronger Kiwi crew.

Points at the conclusion of day two are New Zealand 225, Australia 251. Crews will combine in eights for the final day of racing today (Saturday), however the overall results of the racing will make little difference, with the Kiwis unable to chase down the Australians well established lead.

After unseasonably cold and blustery conditions earlier in the week, crews were greeted with light winds and blue skies for the final day of racing featuring men’s and women’s coxed eights.

The results of the morning’s heats would prove to predict the final winners with Australia claiming victory in the women’s eight, and New Zealand nudging out the Australians by less than a second in the men’s eight.

The New Zealand men’s eight held off the powerful Australian men’s eight to win the final by just 0.11 seconds, in a time of 5:40.33, while the Australian women’s eight proved too strong for the New Zealand .

Winning the heat by a margin of just over two seconds the Australians then went on to dominate the final, crossing the line over six seconds ahead of the New Zealanders in a time of 6:23.15.

The victory further ensured the Australians would take the Rusty Robertson Trophy back across the Tasman after being won by New Zealand in 2015. Australia claimed overall victory with 293 points over New Zealand’s 266 points.

Report originially appeared as ‘Australians have one hand on the Rusty Robertson Trophy’.