Skip to content
1996 M2 650
Rowing AustraliaJun 5, 2024 11:00:18 AM1 min read

Six influential figures in Australian rowing nominated for life membership

Six influential figures in Australian rowing have been nominated for Rowing Australia’s highest honour, Life Membership. 

The list comprises Olympic champion athletes, decorated administrators, long-serving umpires, and key contributors to the sport's development. 

Nominees are:  

  • Adair Ferguson OAM ASM 


Adair Ferguson, Australian rowing's first female world champion, is a trailblazer for women in the sport. She set new standards by competing at the highest levels as a mother and well beyond typical retirement age, inspiring generations of female athletes. 

  • Craig James OAM 

Craig James OAM

Craig James has served Rowing Australia as a councillor, mediator, and one of the longest-serving umpires, significantly contributing to rowing in Western Australia and nationally. 

  • Chris Noel OAM 

Chris from SUBC website 250

Chris Noel's dedication has led to the development of numerous athletes for national teams. He transformed Sydney University Boat Club into one of the most successful Australian Boat Clubs and played pivotal roles for Rowing NSW, the Australian Boat Race, and the NSW Kings Cup Eight’s consecutive victories from 2008-2014. 

  • Kate Allen (née Slatter) OAM and Megan Marcks (née Still) OAM 


Kate Allen and Megan Marcks, Australia’s first female Olympic rowing champions, won Gold in the women’s pair at Atlanta 1996. They inspired future generations, and both have continued to contribute significantly to the rowing community and sports administration. 

  • Robert Scott OLY

1996 M2 650

An Olympic Silver Medallist and President of Rowing Australia since 2014, Rob Scott has overseen the establishment of National Training Centres, promoted teamwork, and expanded the sport through innovations like coastal and indoor rowing. His leadership has been instrumental in making rowing more accessible and successful in Australia. 


These six remarkable individuals have made enduring contributions to Australian rowing, shaping the sport's past, present, and future. They will receive their Life Memberships at the 2024 Rower of the Year awards in November later this year.