Skip to content
Rowing AustraliaJun 4, 2024 9:55:47 AM1 min read

Rusty Robertson Trophy secured with another clean sweep from our U21s

The Australian Under 21 team has retained the Rusty Robertson Trophy with another clean sweep of New Zealand after the Trans-Tasman Regatta on Lake Burley Griffin. 

The host crews continued their winning streak by dominating the Men’s and Women’s Coxed Eight events over on Sunday morning. 

“I would like to congratulate both the Australian and New Zealand teams for the quality of racing and spirit in which the competition was held,” Rowing Australia Head of Pathways Jason Lane said.  

“It was a fantastic achievement from all athletes and coaches to win every final. It was also pleasing to see the way the crews raced, displaying great resilience and determination to answer the challenges that came their way.” 


Finals Results: 

Women’s Four 
Georgia Montague, Lucy Richardson, Alice Ready and Tylah Hutton secured the Gold Medal. The Jamie McDonald-coached crew won the 1800m race in 6:25.37s. 

Women’s Quad 
Alex O’Brien, Zara Kfouri, Ella Spaulding and Sinead Reading flew home to victory, finishing in 6:14.72. New Zealand crossed the line at 6:23.04. 

Men’s Four 
Tom Foley, Winston Hooper, Joe Lynch and Josh Wilson, coached by James Rook, finished first in 5:45.22, seven seconds ahead of New Zealand (5:52.38). 

Men’s Quad 
Oscar Beregi, Chad Willett, Jack Power and Nicholas Barlow showcased incredible technical stamina, finishing in 5:35.61, a length ahead of New Zealand (5:40.95). 

Women’s Eight 
Alyssa Fikkers, Zara Kfouri, Ella Spaulding, Sinead Reading, Georgia Montague, Lucy Richardson, Alice Ready, Tylah Hutton, and Joshua Feferkranz (coxswain) showed impressive resilience. 

After losing their heat the day before, they finished in front of New Zealand by 0.52 seconds, with Australia clocking in at 5:53.00 and New Zealand at 5:53.52.  

The team also won the 3000m race on Friday afternoon. 

Men’s Eight 
Oscar Beregi, Chad Willett, Jack Power, Nicholas Barlow, Tom Foley, Winston Hooper, Joe Lynch, Josh Wilson and Tom Shaw (coxswain) delivered a relentless final, finishing 12 seconds ahead of the Kiwis. Australia won with a time of 5:14.79, while New Zealand finished at 5:27.18. 

These Men also won the 3000m race on Friday afternoon.  


The final point score for the regatta was Australia 134 – New Zealand 104.